Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1608 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 12/2/2010 8:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product. I'll never use another. I prefer this over UDPP. The packaging is perfect, you can squeeze every drop of product out so theres no wasting. This is definitely my staple that I can not do without.



on 12/2/2010 8:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Not sure how I lived without this. I can sleep on my makeup and it still looks awesome (and sometimes even better after a nice smoosh/sleep blending) because of this stuff! I've tried other eye primers but this one is the diamond. If I had to recommend a friend to buy only one of my fav. makeup items this would be the mandatory first!


on 11/30/2010 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I learned to love this through trial and error. The first sample I got a long time ago I didn't like because it didn't really work for me. I found it to be too oily and it creased. I just gave up on it and moved on. Then a few months ago I got a another sample, tried it again, and was puzzled as to why I didn't like it the first time. Now that I've read a couple of reviews here, I realized that the first primer got separated which is why it didn't work for me. All I needed to do is shake it a little. Since I started using the new one a few months ago it hasn't creased on me yet even after 12 hrs. For reference, MAC's paint pots start creasing on me after 6 hrs. Also, the application and blending of eye shadows is smoother than paint pots. I love the packaging too. I can't wait to purchase this in full size! The little one is quite a generous sample.


on 11/27/2010 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

TFSI > UDPP if you have normal to dry lids. I've went through two tubes of UDPP before I got fed up with that awful, wasteful packaging. The texture was also harder to spread on my lids evenly, and made shadows so hard to blend (especially mattes). With continued use, it made my lids flake.

I've been a TFSI convert for a while now, I'm nearly done with the tube. It has a creamier texture than UDPP so it's much easier to spread evenly. It IS greasier than UDPP but as long as it's mixed well in the tube (since it tends to separate if left alone for a couple days), I don't find it too oily. No problem blending shadows over it either, even without waiting for it to dry. The packaging is also A+, in a sleek, cute hygienic tube with a pointed tip. I only need a tiny dot for each lid. My eye makeup lasts 6+ hours before it begins to fade, but it doesn't crease.

The only con is that it doesn't hold my eye makeup longer than UDPP does (8 hours). I recommend UDPP for oily lids and TFSI for dry.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2010 2:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this product! I found this AFTER I'd been using and tried all of Urban Decay's primer potion colors. I liked UDPP alright, but after 7 hours if would start making my eyeshadow crease. I have no creasing whatsoever and no fading of eyeshadow color whatsover when I use Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I love the packaging because its a squeeze tube so every drop will be used and I like the tube form because it keeps it from drying out (like a flip lid container would) and it isn't stupid packaging like UDPP. I even use this along my lashline on days that I'm just wearing eyeshadow as eyeliner and it is AWESOME. I will be buying this again and again.


on 11/26/2010 9:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this product easy to apply and long lasting. The only issue I had was that it took awhile to dry.


on 11/24/2010 6:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this eyeshadow primer! the packaging and the quality are much better than udpp


on 11/23/2010 4:11:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was so looking forward to loving this, but I don't. It goes on my lids in a greasy manner and takes longer to dry than other eye primers. :( I gave it an overall rating of 3 since my shadows don't crease, and last, but no more than any other primer. I'm disappointed that this wasn't my HG of eye primers. Bare Escentuals and MAC paint pots are better IMO.


on 11/21/2010 5:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the best eyeshadow primer I've tried, but I haven't tried too many yet. I am a little disappointed though after hearing all the hype. The primer is a bit oily but that is alright for me because I don't have oily lids. The only thing is if I accidentally put even the slightest bit too much, my eyeshadow will crease. I do have a heavy crease, though. I also can't apply this over concealer or foundation (I used to like to pat foundation over my lids to cover up veins) or else it will make the foundation separate all over my lid. Maybe I'll try dusting powder over the primer like the helpful reviewer below suggested and then update.


Despite all that, I still use this daily and will continue to use unless I find something I like more. If applied carefully, my shadow will last longer than without it, but it still fades by the end of the day, even if I use a more high quality shadow. Maybe I'm asking for too much from a primer but I want my eyeshadow to look fresh all day long. There is nothing grosser looking than smeary and worn off eyeshadow on a dried out lid!


Edit: I recently stopped using this to find that my eyeshadows apply and stay better on my lids over my foundation versus this primer. My lids are noticeably more greasy when I use this (making eyeshadow slide around on them) even though I only applied sparingly. Took one lippie off and will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2010 2:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

To explain why I don't like this product I should tell you have have oily skin and this product isn't made for oily skin user. When I first got into using makeup I bought the shadow insurance. I was kinda happy with the results, but not really. I would have to put on two coats of this and use elf facial whip as a base shadow to get some long wear use out of my eyeshadows. I used the shadow insurance over a year until I found a better product, that miracle product for those of us who have oily skin is Urban Decay's Primer Potion.


Back to Top