Garnier Ultra-Lift Anti-Wrinkle Firming Eye Cream

2.9

97 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/5/2015 1:22:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Well this just comes to prove that one man's food is another one's poison. I love this cream.

I was looking for an eye cream that would not cost the earth (I refuse to pay those ridiculous prices HE brands ask for), that was not loaded with cones, that would bring some relief to my desperately dry under eye area. This is it.

I love the texture. It's very creamy but NOT greasy. It glides on my skin, feels delightful and absorbs right away. So, does this cream erase wrinkles and lift skin and make me look like I was 20? Of course not. And I don't care, either. I am old enough to know better than believing the promises of cosmetic companies. I have long since accepted the fact that the only thing that lifts eyelids and really gets rid of bags and lines is cosmetic surgery - especially at my age. This cream makes my under eye area feel comfortable and hydrated, softens the look of the area, works very well with MU, and has not caused the slightest irritation to my eyes (I've been using it for more than a week, day and night). That's good enough for me.

Mind you, the jar I have does not look like the one in the picture, although the name is the same. Mine is not called Nutritioniste. It's just the regular green jar with a white cap and a little red label where the name goes. I don't know if that makes any difference, but I thought I'd mention it. I'm very happy with this cream. And it's very reasonably priced considering how even pries for DS products are going through the roof these days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/15/2015 4:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There is another product review here similar to the one I am writing about this eye cream. I too experienced horrible allergic reactions to this product under my eyes. Puffy bags, redness and swelling and itching. I looked like I had been crying all night when I used this stuff. I used this product back in 2008 and have never forgotten what it did to my under eye area. I don't even have sensitive skin and am not prone to breakouts, but this was disastrous. I wish I knew what the ingredient was that irritated my skin so much - it would be great if I could keep an eye out (ha) for it in products in the future.


on 12/11/2014 12:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am right now in the midst of a horrible allergic reaction to this product. I've had this cream for several months. About a month ago, my eyes started tearing on a daily basis. I just figured it was seasonal allergies. Then a few days later, I woke up with immense bags under my eyes and dry, flaky skin on my eyelids. I thought it might be the eye cream, but wasn't positive. I put the jar away and bought something else that I have been using for the past month. Well, regrettably, I forgot about this allergy when I used this cream 2 days ago. I woke up with my eyes "glued" together. When I looked in the mirror, I just about jumped out of my skin. My eyes were unbelievably blood-shot and incredibly swollen. I had bags under my eyes and dry, scaly skin on my eyelids. I look like a monster. There was no denying what caused this -- Garnier eye cream. I have been looking up reviews on this, which I hadn't before, and am astonished that so many people have had the same major complaints and this product would still be available on the market. It's a horrible product that Garnier should be fined for even selling. DO NOT BUY!!!!


on 10/8/2014 6:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had already bought this when I read all of the bad reviews. I still wanted to try it for myself but I held on to the packaging just in case I didn't like it. I was really surprised that after about 2 weeks (several nights a week) I had the redness and burning others experienced. I don't have sensitive skin but towards the end I would wake up to redness and puffiness around my eyes. It would fade in a couple hours but the skin around my eyes also started to get dry and flaky. I wanted to like this because of the retinol but I had to take it back.


on 8/26/2014 3:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have only been using this a short while, but I like it so far. No issues with burnng or stinging. I think the reason why people are having issues is because they are using it ON the eyelid and too close to the actual eye/eyelash area. Products containing retinol should never be used directly on the eyelid, because this area is thinner amd hyper sensitive. Also, it will inevitably run into the eye. ONLY use it AROUND the eye area. Google orbital eye area for reference. This is where you should be applying your retinol eye products. Thank you.


on 8/7/2014 12:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I ginger and things that smell like, though not in an eye cream! That's what this smelt like to me and I think it irritated my eyes. Also it I know it was supposed to be a "lifting eye cream" but I would expect any eye cream to moisturize somewhat, and this didn't cut it. I thought it was expensive for a drugstore eye cream as well.


on 6/12/2014 2:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I also wish I would have read these reviews. I used it for 2 days---had itchy eyes during the day and woke up with goopy/blurry eyes in the morning. At first I thought I was just suffering from seasonal allergies---then a light bulb went off and I quit using this cream. My eyes are all better.

This is unfortunate. I love their BB Cream!


on 6/3/2014 11:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am shocked by all of these other reviews. I have been using this eye cream for two years and have never had any problems or negative skin reactions to it. I have repurchased it twice. It is very hydrating and refreshing.


on 7/23/2013 5:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I also had the same awful allergic reaction that many others had to this product. It took several weeks of use to become a problem for me, but then my eyes became red and goopy. The area under my eyes ended up red, swollen, and peeling. I also went through several prescriptions for eye drops and creams before finally being referred to a specialist who identified it as an allergy. I almost threw away all of my eye make-up before finally realizing it was this eye cream that was doing it. I've never had any sensitivity problems with my face before, so thisone took a long time to pinpoint.

I'm not trying to pile on the bad reviews, but it would be really nice to know which ingredient is causing the problem. I have one loreal eye cream that I know works well for me, and I'm afraid to try anything else without being able to check an ingredient label for the problem.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After using this for about 7 weeks I would say this is a decent eye cream. I have not had any horrible reactions like many of the other reviewers had. In fact, I kind of like this cream. I simply pat it on my under eye area as well as my eyelid to moisturize my dry lids. I continued to use this even after reading some of the horrible reviews. I haven't had any problem with it, although it does take a while to soak in.


Back to Top