CeraVe Moisturizing Cream

4.3

415 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Purified), Glycerin, Ceteareth 20, Capric/Caprylic Stearic Triglyceride, Behentrimonium Methylsulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Petrolatum, Dimethicone, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Phytosphingosine, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 5/24/2015 10:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this moisturizer. I got it in a trial pack with the Cerave hydrating cleanser (which I have a review on as well). I wasn't a big fan of the cleanser but this moisturizer was really nice. I like how light it is. It absorbs well, if you don't use a lot of it. A little goes a long way. It definitely would be great for those nasty winter months. Mine didn't come in the jar, it came in a squeeze tube. I don't know if that's just because it was a trial size or if they have others on the market in the same tube just bigger. I would have continued to use this product but my dermatologist put me on Epiduo and advised me to use something else that doesn't have so many medical ingredients in it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/16/2015 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this cream and it moisturizes really well. My dermatologist introduced me to this product and its very good for sensitive acne prone skin. It does not clog pores and gets the job done. It has a good texture not greasy at all.


on 5/12/2015 4:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

HG cream! I have oily, acne prone skin and have used this on my face and it is amazing. I recently started using it all over my body after my dermatologist recommended it and this stuff is so amazing! Really moisturizing and sinks into the skin extremely well. My only complaint is that it is a little pricey, at about $14 a tub.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2015 6:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! I was overexfoliating my skin trying in vain to make sebborheic dermatitis go away on the sides of my nose and using products that were too harsh when my dermatologist told me to simplify, simplify, simplify! She recommended this and I have never looked back. I apply this product in the morning after my sunscreen (Elta MD UV Clear) and in the evenings 20 minutes after my Walgreens AHA cream or Tretinoin. It keeps my skin hydrated and the price is good for the volume. I wish it came with a pump; however, I purchased one for $6 on Amazon.


on 5/9/2015 1:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The lotion is much more moisturizing than the cream for some odd reason. Feels thick and is hard to blend out on skin. Gave me tons and tons of blackheads on my forehead. While it did not give me acne it definitely contributed to this breakout I had a couple months ago that gave me very inflamed acne that caused indented scars even without picking. Don't recommend it for skin with a damaged barrier that always feels tight because this will just make skin feel tighter and less hydrated. This cream is a very weird texture. It's super thick but not greasy at all when applied to face. I recommend for use on body but 100% not on face if you are struggling with moderate acne/severe acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2015 3:51:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My husband starting using this a couple of months ago at the recommendation of his dermatologist for extremely bad eczema. He had a sudden horrible eczema outbreak (all over his head, neck, back and face) and CeraVe has really worked. All the redness and bumps are gone. He's using it every day now for maintenance as per his derm's advice. He shaves his head and face every other day (which highly irritates his skin) and this stops that irritation and so far has prevented new eczema bumps. I use it occasionally on my arms and legs as it helps maintain skin's natural moisture barrier. Superb product and very affordable for a very large jar. Also good as a basic face moisturizer as it contains ceramides and hylauronic acid.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 1:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an HG product for me! Both my husband and I use this. (He was recommended this for his eczema by our dermatologist) I use this cream on my face at least twice a week before I go to bed and my skin feels soooo soft in the morning. Although I have combo/ oily skin and this product is intended for those with dry skin it still works for me because this cream dries to a satin almost matte finish. I have found that my skin produces more oil because it is actually dehydrated. This product definitely makes my skin plump and smooth. I use this all over my body, my cuticles, my feet and even on my lips. I can't get enough of this stuff!
Tip: Sometimes if my skin has some dry patches in the morning before I put on my makeup I will put a tinyyyy amount (because too much can feel heavy) on my dry patches and it makes my foundation go on so much smoother, just make sure to set everything with powder :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

When first applied, it makes my face feel taut, but within fifteen minutes my face feels soft and slightly hydrated. This cream didn't provide the hydration my face needs.

I tried it on my neck and décolletage area and it worked okay. Keep it around to use on those areas when I want my regular moisturizer to last longer.


on 4/7/2015 11:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Let me start by saying that my skin has had a mind of its own this past winter, went from being extremely dry and flaky to having an allergic reaction from another product I used, and this cream has definitely brought it "back to life" if you will. After learning I had sensitive skin I started using Cerave products and my skin has improved dramatically, this cream has saved my skin! It comes in a large tub that lasts a long time, and I apply it at night to my face only, it's definitely a thicker cream but provides the hydration I need. The only downfall is that it's not very hygienic because there's no pump and you have to scoop it out by hand but that won't stop me from purchasing again, very happy with this product!


on 3/26/2015 12:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I remember when CeraVe products started getting popular and I saw more and more of them around the different drugstores I went to. I have read more reviews than I can ever recall on how great their products are over the years. But for some reason, I never picked them up! Until now that is, when I was driven to desperation because of hormonal changes/dry skin. I have very, very sensitive skin that is also acne-prone and combo.

I was pretty hesitant to try this cream out after having a horrible reaction to the foaming cleanser. But after trying out 4 different moisturizers (also 5 different foundations at the same time because of dry skin/PIH issues) and wasting a lot of my dollars, I finally, FINALLY picked this cream up in the 12 oz. tub. It seems like a great value for how much I paid ($10 on amazon)!

I usually do not write reviews on products until I have tried them out for months, but I have been having such good results with this cream during the past week that I'm compelled to leave a positive review. I'm very good about updating so I will update if anything changes.

I've been so conflicted because I couldn't wear ANY sort of foundation/concealer to cover my hyperpigmentation without my face drying out into a raisin. My skin tends to itch like CRAZY and breaking out into painful red bumps that look like acne when my skin gets so dry. Being the self-conscious person that I am about my skin, I chose to go with wearing makeup and covering up those marks. As a result, constant itching/breaking out on top of my skin's texture looking horrible with the makeup drying out my face. Not pretty at all.

This is my routine now and it has helped SO MUCH (especially the vegetable glycerin, but the biggest star of them all is this CeraVe cream):
- Extra Virgin Olive Oil to remove makeup
- Gentle, hand-made vegetable soap (Chagrin Valley's Bananas & Cream) or Hydrating soap-free cleanser (Himalaya Botanique Hydrating Cleanser) to double cleanse
- George's Aloe Vera juice in a spray bottle + a few drops of vegetable glycerin
- Andalou Naturals Turmeric + vitamin c serum (the past several days, was using Silk Natural's Oatmeal serum)
- PILE ON TONS OF Cerave Cream + a few drops of Mountain Rose Herbs rosehip seed oil

(With Silk Naturals 8% AHA - lactic acid - every 3-4 days at night. My skin is too sensitive for any more exfoliating.)

I'm SO happy and excited to say that I can wear makeup again without worry! I'm so glad to have my beloved Lucy Minerals foundation back in my life! :)))) Thank you CeraVe!

One thing I would like to say though is that this stung my skin each time I put it on when I first started using it. But I think my skin's gotten used to it now. It didn't sting as badly as First Aid Beauty's Ultra Repair Cream. Like I said, I have very reactive skin. :(

I also haven't broken out yet from this, which I have from Now Solutions 28,000 IU vitamin e cream. I picked that one up because of a YouTube video of someone with bad hyperpigmentation and it cleared it all up for her, but sadly didn't work out for me because of clogged pores. It moisturizes better than CeraVe cream on my body, however. CeraVe's cream doesn't leave any slight feeling of greasyness on my (body)skin despite being a thick cream. But it also doesn't moisturize as well as the Now Solutions vitamin e cream. FAB's cream didn't either. But I don't really care because of how fabulous this cream has been for my face.

I'm eyeing the crap out of the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser now. I really want to try it.

Edit 2015 April 7: Alright, sorry to bring the rating down.. But the irritation came back. It gets worse each time I put it on. I've stopped for a few days now. I'm back to the Now Solutions cream and crossing my fingers and hoping that last time was just a coincidence and it won't break me out. Argh! I am so frustrated. I thought I found my holy grail.. But my skin can't tolerate it.. My cheeks burn!! Pretty painfully, might I add. Well, the search is on again I guess. (Why the unhelpful votes, people? Care to explain?)

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated CeraVe Products

Back to Top