Marcelle Face Powder in Translucent

4.6

39 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: TALC, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM/MINERAL OIL/HUILE MINERALE, IMIDAZOLIDINYL UREA, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, BHA, May contain: ( TITANIUM DIOXIDE , IRON OXIDES, METHICONE, ULTRAMARINES, )


on 5/17/2015 11:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love the way this looks on my skin. I love how it makes me look polished but not too "makeuppy". I love the cheap price for the huge whopping size. But it makes my skin feel a little bit dry. And after a week of using it every day...it makes my skin feel REALLY dry. So torn....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/1/2015 7:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

after basically falling in love with their BB Cream, I read reviews about their powder because I desperately needed a new one after the covergirl one i bought (which did not satisfy me at all). This product is just absolutely amazing. I can pack this powder in my face and not look cake at all. it sets my make up amazingly and is so fine. bought it for $10 CAN which is an amazing price for this. Def repurchase once I'm out which might take awhile considering how much product you get.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Just bought this, tried it out to touch up the makeup I was already wearing and it actually made it look even better! Will update when I try setting foundation with it! Hoping it won't dry me out!


on 6/23/2014 1:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Best powder ever! Keeps me matte yet natural looking. It's about $15can for a huge jar of it. I don't even need to touch up throughout the day.
Only complaint is I find it hard to get much product out at a time. You have to really shake it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2014 9:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i have combination sensitive skin and this powder is very drying for me........like the texture and the finish.....great price too......unfortunately my skin won't agree.......


on 4/17/2014 8:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was my favourite fluke of the year. I bought it on a whim at Loblaws because it was on sale (seven dollars!) and I was running out of my MAC studio fix compact powder and I was no where near the mall.

Usually my MAC powder gets me oily 3 hours into wearing it. I dabbed a little bit of the Marcelle Translucent powder in the morning on my nose because it was getting shiny. By the time I got home (around 4:30) my nose was still shine free! This NEVER happens and I have struggled with oily skin all my life.

The powder is lightweight, clear once you apply it and actually keeps you shine free. The only cons would be the size of the container and the fact that it gets everywhere (but that's all translucent powders). Buy it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2014 7:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Simply EXCEPTIONAL - in its own...quiet way.
Powder is important in my routine, especially loose powder. I have many of them. While I like to experiment with new exciting things, this powder is always there. I am male but can never go on a trip without my sunscreen, the ELF powder brush, and Marcelle Face Powder. I can live without foundation, blushes, and bronzers, but I simply cannot leave the house with an SPF oily face.

Most powders are either too coarse, too shiny (why do they have to put mica in there?), or so dry that I feel like I'm dragging my sunscreen as I slide the brush around my face. Marcelle is so fine, the brush glides smoothly, and the finish is simply perfect! no need for a setting spray. I'm not sure whether it is the fine talc or the small amount of mineral oil it contains but it is pure genius!

Is the packaging too big? Yes!! There's 70g or product in there, which makes it cheaper than Ben Nye Luxury Powders by size. You can get it for 10.97 CAD at Walmart. Considering the size it's as cheap as the NYC Loose Powder. The container might be a bit too bulky for travel but I don't care. I just put a sticker to block the sifter and toss it in my bag. I don't even bother to transfer. The two available shades, Translucent and Translucent Medium differ mainly not in darkness but in color. Translucent Medium is simply a bit red, not dark.

Trying to be impartial, I guess its greatest PROS can turn out to be its CONS as well.
- Because it is so sheer, it doesn't offer any coverage. It will slightly blur imperfections but that's about it. Which is good because it doesn't turn my facial hair beige when applied liberally. :)
- Because it is so creamy, there are other talc / cornstarch / rice powders in the market that control oil slightly better. But for normal to slightly oily, slightly dry skin people this is great.
- Because it is so smooth, I find that blush and bronzer don't bind on it as well. I'd say it's more suited as a finishing powder. But I personally prefer a yellow powder for that.

Bottom line: If you need powder to remove shine from sunscreen all over your face and neck this powder is great. If your skin is not too oily it makes a good finishing powder as well. A true beauty bargain, 100% Canadian.:)

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2014 9:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is awesome. right after i apply it i find my makeup to last longer and set reallly well. i find that it can be a little powdery if i apply too much but once ive worn it for a while, it looks fine! this does flashback IF you caked it on. if you dusted it over your face to set foundations, it doesnt flashback. the packaging is simple and it gives just enough powder with a couple of taps. i loove this powder and i havnt touched my other ones since i purchased this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This powder is freaking fantastic! I have super dehydrated be oily skin so finding a powder that doesn't make me look more dehydrated and chalky but keeps the oil at bay has been a very, very big challenge. My mom actually bought me for this a year ago and I for some reason never used it but dug it out a month ago and I love it SO much! The powder comes in the biggest container I have ever seen which isn't ideal for powder but it is only $15 and my mom's jar has lasted her *3* years, still has a tiny bit left and she wears makeup every single day. That is $5 a year for a powder and an incredible one at that. I find one of the biggest issues with powder is getting that really powdered, chalky look and this powder doesn't give me this at all. I apply a generous amount to my face everytime after I apply foundation and my face looks soft matte but not cakey, powdery or chalky at all. The powder does have a slight pinky tiny but I don't find that it actually interferes with the rest of my makeup at all. The only downside I can think of involving this powder is that because the container is fairly large, it isn't travel friendly but for travel you could always transfer a bit of the powder to a smaller container. They also make a Translucent Medium powder for those with darker skin :)


on 3/2/2014 12:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My second ever face powder, and first loose one. Mostly, I was excited to get to use the big fluffy powder brush, but the product was great too!

I love that it literally keeps your face matte all day, and thats really good coming from someone who has had a super oily forehead her whole life. I like that it doesn't smell, and doesn't make my face cakey. It's a very very sheer coverage, but it's perfect to keep all your make up in place all day, while keeping the oily shine away!!!

The price was fantastic too! Shoppers Drugs Mart for $15. It's HUGE and seems to last forever, so you defientely get your money's worth.

Hope they don't discontinue!!!!


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Marcelle Products

Back to Top