Smashbox Photo Op Under Eye Brightener

2.8

208 reviews

42% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Phenyl Trimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Isostearic Acid, Emulsifying Wax NF, Steareth-21, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Steareth-2, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Xanthan Gum, Sodium PCA, Squalane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Lecithin, Polysorbate 20, Sorbitan Laurate, Propylene Glycol Stearate, Propylene Glycol Laurate, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Steareth-20, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Chrysin, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Cholesterol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Diacetyl Boldine, Hydrolyzed Marine Collagen, Silanetriol, Glutamylamidoethyl Imidazole, Fructose Oligosaccharides, Porphyridium Cruentum Extract, Biotite, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract. May Contain: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Carmine (CI 75470).


on 5/10/2015 1:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Sightly over priced but this product makes the perfect under eye base! It gives a bit of moisture, and dries down very quickly. I find that eye creams take too long to dry and make my under eye concealer blotchy because it gives too much moisture. This gives just the right amount of moisture for me, and dries down within a minute, which is perfect for cutting down on makeup time in the morning. It does have a slight brightening effect and this would be perfect for those who don't have dark circles to wear alone. I find the packaging leaks a tiny bit so the cap gets a little messy. Overall, this is a great product to use in conjunction with your under eye concealer.



on 8/28/2014 1:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I didn't think I would like this. Got it in a smashbox set and wanted some of the other items this was one I wasn't interested in. This is not a concealer, I use it after I apply foundation but before I apply my concealer. It brightens the eye area, great for days when I clearly did not get enough sleep and I'm rocking the dark dark shadows under my eyes. It reflects the light and makes me look much less tired. I let it set a couple of minutes before I pat some concealer over top and for something I didn't want I sure am glad to have it some days! Wish it was cheaper lol. Would repurchase.


on 7/26/2014 8:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was a waste of money. What's this even supposed to do? It's so sheer it can't be used under the eyes if you've got dark circles. I tried to use it on my cheek bones and brow bone for a halo glow but when I patted the product into my skin, it totally disappeared. I wonder if I got one that was watered down but I highly doubt it. I think it's just like this. The packaging is cute with the brush and all but I wish it was a squeeze tube instead so I could just mix it with my heavier foundation to lighten it up a bit and get a subtle glow if any. Don't bother getting this one.


on 7/7/2013 7:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I pair this with Tarte concealer under my eyes! Love it. Helps brighten and stay out. I really like the dewy effect as it makes my skin look healthier.


on 5/1/2013 1:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This isnt actually a concealer, therefore it doesnt crease anything, nor will it cover. It adds a bit of brightness, and makes you look bright eyed and bushy tailed. So just a little pick me up after a long night out.

If it is used correctly, then it is swell.


on 2/26/2013 2:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I picked this up on a whim while shopping the other day. I have my fair share of highlighters and brighteners but I really loved the texture and consistency of this one. Alone it moisturizes and reflects light away from under the eye; then I popped some concealer over it and BAM! Beautiful coverage with a fantastic lightening property.


on 2/22/2013 11:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Its watery & very opaque. When used under my eyes it did nothing to actually brighten or improve (my eyes are deeper set w/ slight darkness). I had high hopes since smashbox hardly ever disappoints & I've had great luck with other eye illuminaters in the past but sadly this one is prettier in the tube than on your face.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

meh
party pooper alert

ineffective in brightening my dark bags
save your moola for something else


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second tube already so its very obvious that it works great on my medium/dark skintone. This is simply an undereye brightner and is not a concealer. I apply it over my correcter before I set it with powder. Or sometimes when I go without any foundation or bb cream I apply just along my orbital bone and it gives me a more refreshed look. A little goes a long way as it took me an entire year to finish off my first tube. Very happy with the results I receive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2012 11:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used Smashbox in the past and have always been impressed by their quality of cosmetics. This under eye brigthener however, did not deliver.
I bought it to diffuse my dark circles, I knew it wouldn't erradicate the problem, I wasn't expecting miracles but I thought that it would atleast brighten under my eyes if used in conjunction with my concealer. It did not.
The product comes in a 7.1ml plastic tube with a screw wand which has a smal brush attached at the end to apply the product. It's a very light sheer creamy illuminator - seems water based but I'm not sure if it is or not.
It has quite a sharp cosmetic scent for a light small product but it wasn't irritating for my eye area.
The colour is a very pale peachy pink with very fine silver glitter particles within the product, the glitter isn't instantly noticeable as the product has more of a sheen rather than sparkle. The product itself is sheer once blended, I wouldn't say it's buildable and one colour suits all.
I also found that after you open the product and have used it after a very short while you get build up around the wand which is dry and sticky, so i have to clean it before use which results in a lot of product waste. I personally didn't like the product and failed to use it for something else i.e as a highlighter for brow bone as it just does not deliver. It is now in the bin ;( I wouldn't recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Smashbox Products

image

Brow tech

358 reviews
Back to Top