Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (All brands)

4.5

880 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cocos nucifera


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm a big fan of coconut oil (virgin, unrefined, no brand preference). As a little background, I'm not especially concerned about the whole natural vs. artificial debate — there are plenty of "natural" ingredients that can actually be harmful from a skincare standpoint and vice versa. I like it because it stands up well along side of a lot of other products I've tried, and smells fantastic (to me!) and is dirt cheap, all things considered.

That said, I do understand that it can majorly comodogenic for folks with more sensitive/susceptible skin types (having large pores/oily skin is apparently one indicator *) and I would definitely be very wary if I fell into that camp. As I don't, I have the luxury (for which I am very grateful) of being able to experiment with a variety skincare products/oils/treatments without needing to be concerned about breakout issues. [* I read somewhere, but cannot attest to this personally, that using an exfoliant prior to applying coconut oil may prevent breakout issues for those who are prone to them. Again, I cannot personally vouch for this, but am putting it here in case it's helpful to someone else.] [Also, my positive experience with coconut oil doesn't invalidate anyone elses' opposite experiences and I've thumbed up reviews that are completely contrary to mine that I nevertheless found quite thoughtful and useful :)]

On the oil front, I've tried a lot of different oils on my face including argan oil, rosehip oil, olive oil, jojoba oil, almond oil, kukui nut oil, etc. (I'm sure I'm forgetting some). I love the concept of face oils, but I usually end up being a little disappointed for one reason or another by most of the ones I've tried. Coconut oil is the only one that's become somewhat of a mainstay in my regimen.

A little bit truly goes a very long way, but once absorbed, I feel like it gives my skin a softer, more velvety texture than all of the other oils I've tried, and it truly feels more *moisturized* than oiled (a textural difference that is important to me). I also feel like it does a superior job to other oils of minimizing/plumping out the very few fine lines around my mouth/eye region, and is hopefully keeping any further deepening at bay, even if it's not necessarily turning back the clock.

I've experimented with it as a face treatment quite a bit, and I've found that layering it on top of my favorite moisturizers makes for a fantastic nighttime mask akin to some of the much more expensive nighttime leave-on masks I've tried before (and loved, but didn't purchase because my favorite one of all was $90+!!!). I also use it as a physical exfoliant with sugar (prolly not the best thing for my face skin from what I've read so not necessarily recommending it, but I'm the kind of person that sometimes throws caution to the wind and does what feels good to me, dangnabbit!)

I've also tried it on my hair, but was a little bit less successful. It could be that it just weighs down my hair too much (while I have a lot of strands, they're typically very thin, dry and limp — my hair is much fussier than my skin, frankly). I will continue my hair experiments because I do feel like it was quite moisturizing (albeit greasy); just haven't found the right way to incorporate into my haircare regimen yet (or it just may not have a role to play there).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/10/2015 4:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

1: This first part is a review for coconut oil on the face. My advice: DON'T!
I'm gonna quote Crunchy Betty (you have food on your face) here:
"I’m aware that as soon as I write this, five or ten of you are going to pop out of the woodwork and say, “But wait! Coconut (or olive) oil works for me!” And that’s incredible. But just know, you are a very special minority. Very special. You might want to see if you can fly or something – that’s how special you are."
So, of course, I read this AFTER I put this on my face and it went terribly wrong. The comedogenic rating of this stuff is 4 on a scale from 0 to 5 (also looked that up afterwards, stupidstupid). So no surprise it broke me out within hours. I'm not prone to acne at all, aside from a few monthly hormonal zits on my hair- and jawline. It also gave me dry, angry red patches within the same couple of hours. So, this is very drying and very comedogenic. I don't know what skintype will benefit from this. There are so many good, moisturizing, non- or low comedogenic oils out there that work wonders (sunflower oil, sheabutter, just to name a few with a comedogenic rating of 0. Yes! ZERO!) that I don't understand why I even tried this. Guess it's the hype that made me do it. Don't make that same mistake. 1 lippie for this on the face.

2: in diy deodorant, with baking soda and corn starch. 5 lippies!
I decided to try this in an eco-attack of cutting out a lot of packaging. This works great! My armpits are dry (in the sense of not sweaty), the skin in my armpits is soft, smooth and smelling neutral with a whiff of coconut, which I love. Try this at home! 1 part baking soda, 1 part corn starch and 2 to 4 parts of coconut oil, depending on personal preference. Mix it together and here's your deodorant!


on 4/10/2015 4:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This stuff has a million uses. I put it on my dog when she has dry/patchy fur. It healed her ears when they cracked from our cold temperatures.

It tastes great...

But PUT IT ON YOUR HAIR!

This cheap, easy-to-find product has changed my hair. Once or twice a week, I will take a good amount and heat it (small bowl in a sink full of hot water) and then absolutely lather my hair up in it. Scalp to ends, I massage it in and then let it sit in my hair for at least a half hour.

Then just wash it out with your normal shampoo (I usually wash twice) and then follow with your normal conditioner.

Your hair will love you forever. In one treatment, mine went from crunchy-dry to so soft I couldn't stop touching it. I have tried countless EXPENSIVE products and nothing has done what simple coconut oil has done.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2015 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I can say for a fact that I absolutely love and loathe this stuff. As far as food goes, I like cooking with it. It's really good for you. It was really nice for my hair, too.
For for my face, this crap was horrible. I stupidly listened to so many people online who ranted and raved about how they use coconut oil as a facial moisturizer and it 'cured' all of their problems. So I jumped on the bandwagon and every night, I carefully applied to the oil to my face after washing it.

Spoiler alert: it did not cure my acne, improve my complexion, or get rid of any blackheads.

In actuality, it made my face and acne 10x worse, and I stuck with this stuff every night for about three or four months. I kept listening to the random stupid bloggers who talk about a 'purging period'. Plot twist: it doesn't really exist. If something is breaking you out, it's going to keep happening. It's not going to magically improve just because. And if I had all these toxins lurking deep within my skin that oil 'pulls out' or whatever, why have I never noticed them before? Why wouldn't they have emerged to wreak havoc on my face prior to the coconut oil? Oh right, that's because they don't exist and the coconut oil is actually breaking me out.

I am so wary when it comes to people and alternative medicine and whatnot. Shudder.

*And for references, I used organic, expeller-pressed, unrefined virgin coconut oil. Maybe I should have used cold-pressed, I dunno. Either way, I've used other oils on my face, and it just doesn't agree with my skin.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2015 5:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't really like using oils on my skin I especially do not like using coconut oil on my skin not because it's bad oh no no I just don't like that coconut smell. I do use it for hair it is so wonderful as a hair product instant shine so good. I also use it on my lips to wipe off super pigmented lipsticks I do not use this on my face I don't think that's a good idea if you've got an oily tzone.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best stuff for sunburns. I need another bottle for this summer. It's so soothing when it's cold on hot skin, and it's awesome for shaving legs too. It's also awesome as a deep conditioning hair treatment. I don't think it really helps hair to grow, but maybe it does help with extreme damage from chemicals.. I think everyone should have a bottle of this.
I also use it as an eye make-up remover. I don't think it's a good overall face cleanser though at least not for acne prone/ sensitive crazy skin like I have.


on 3/6/2015 4:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Coconut oil is one of my absolute favorite beauty products. I think you can use it for literally almost everythingx it's such a magic product I love it especially for my hair and as makeup remover


on 2/27/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love coconut oil. It has so many different ways to be incorporated in your daily life, and it is cheaper than a lot of beauty products out there.

I did not like using it on my face as a moisturiser, nor as a face wash. Both times it broke me out horribly, and my skin got 10x more congested than it was. However, I knew a girl who swore by coconut oil as a facial moisturiser. She had dry, flaky skin so it may work better for those with skin similar to hers.

I have also used it as a body scrub, mixing it with some honey and sugar. I prefer my scrubs using olive oil if my skin is in dire need of moisture. For the summer, or when my skin isn't very dry, I will use the coconut-sugar scrub. I just mix a bit of each until I get the consistency I like.

I also make a body butter using coconut oil, olive oil, and shea butter. It makes my skin feel amazing. Very conditioning and soothing for dry skin. I believe you can still get great results using just coconut oil on its own for your skin. I use it on my lips before bed every night.

I have tried coconut oil on its own for my hair. It is very moisturising, and leaves hair so soft and silky. I especially loved using it as a pre-poo when using shampoos with sulphates, so my hair isn't left completely stripped. Now I use it in a blend with my other oils and prefer to use it that way. My hair is soft, healthy, and in much better condition than it was prior to doing hot oil treatments.

I used to do oil pulling with coconut oil every morning for twenty minutes. It made my gums feel and look much healthier, my teeth shiny and bright, and my mouth really healthy overall. I used to suffer from gingivitis (yes I visit the dentist regularly, brush twice a day, and floss), and oil pulling has helped significantly. I haven't done it lately, just because I didn't have the extra twenty minutes each morning to do it. I will be getting back into this soon. I'm not sure if all the other health claims of oil pulling are true, since I don't suffer from serious health problems.

I also use coconut oil for cooking sometimes. It gives food a hint of coconut, in smell and taste. It supposedly helps to burn fat (strange, but look it up), and has several health benefits.

There are so many other uses for coconut oil, that I can go on and on about it. Look up some other uses, or think of some on your own. I definitely recommend trying it out, you should find at least one thing you like to use it for! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 5:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Alright so I have mixed opinions on coconut oil.
I first started using coconut oil as a weekly hair mask, with a few drops of peppermint oil to stimulate hair growth, and it works very well. It makes my hair smooth, and I can tell my hair has grown more than usual and is a lot healthier.
However, I read lots of reviews saying that coconut oil is an amazing face cleanser, and I have to disagree. The first time I used it- I loved it. My skin was super smooth, glowing, and looked awesome. But the next day, I noticed some bumps appearing on my face. I thought, "No way- a product that made my skin feel that good is breaking me out? Meh." So I thought I'd continue using it for another week or two to see if it was just hormonal acne or what not. I applied it to my lips one night and woke up with a HUGE pimple on the side of my lip... and some days when I cleansed with it at night, I woke up with breakouts that hurt so badly, which I've never experienced before.
So my verdict: great for the hair, not so good on my acne prone skin.
Coconut oil is a 4 on the Comedogenic Ratings (meaning it's very high in causing acne and clogging pores, 5 being the highest rating).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 9:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I only use coconut oil for oil pulling and oil facial cleansing straight from the jar without mixing with other oils, feels great and works well. I would also massage coconut oil on my body topically after shower, it does keep the skin very silky soft all day long.

It might be also great to work as a facial moisturizer for non acne-prone skin, its very light-weighted and contains some UV protection, but for myself, I have better alternatives, my all time HGs: Decleor Aromessence line (oil serum + balm), 100% natural, and Dr. Hauschka's Rose Day Cream, these seem to give me better protection because they contain bee wax and other ingredients.

People, do note that coconut oils aren't all created equal, some are extracted from dry, old coconut meat transported from the plantations to factory, some are extracted from freshly harvested right at the plantations, it may affect the result. Learn about different types and read the labels carefully before your purchase. For more information, please check: http://coconut-oil-tips.com/facts/what-is-best-coconut-oil-brand-to-buy/




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

111 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

44 reviews
Back to Top