Dior Eau Sauvage edt

4.6

13 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Eau Sauvage is a hugely nostalgic perfume for me. It reminds me
of those heady, optimistic days in the early seventies, when anything
was possible and life was easy. I find it a super erotic scent that is completely
unisex and very distictive. It feels moist and succulent (mainly due to the hedione)
and freshly citric.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/23/2013 2:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Class in a bottle. My Dad bought me this when i was 21 & ive worn it ever since It is NOT a Unisex fragrance its a Masculine Smell & in my opinion the modern mens aftershave cant touch This Dior Classic. I wouldnt have the likes of Armani Code & Gucci for nothing !!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2011 12:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is one of my HG colognes. It's an older, mature scent. Not any guy could wear it. It is elegant, spicy, citrusy, all in one. Very refined and one of a kind. It has some of my favorite notes: musk, lemon, vetiver, amber, sandalwood. Classy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2011 1:49:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've had a love/hate relationship with Eau Sauvage over the years. Back in the 1970s, it was considered an edgy scent for women to wear, a lemony crossover fragrance. Cristalle was all the rage then as well. I love many lemon and citrus fragrances, and crossover fragrances, but there's something in Eau Sauvage that isn't quite right on me. I like it about 1/4 of the time and dislike it the rest of the time. Every few years I pull it out and try again, with the same iffy result. Eau Sauvage seems to me more masculine than unisex. Despite my long interest in Eau Sauvage, I will leave it to the European men, and enjoy wearing other citrus fragrances instead.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2010 11:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this fragrance - it's for men but I definitely would wear this. Classically citrus zing .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2009 11:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Mom kept a bottle of this in the bathroom when I was growing up. When I wanted to feel (and smell) adult and sophisticated I'd slap it on. Now, as a middle-aged fragrance head, I went to Sephora today to try it. The bottle and, more important, the smell, are as I remembered. It is the perfect citrus fragrance. It is also a perfect fragrance. Everything balances. A big blast of lemon that soon dries down to a lemon-inflected herbal scent that maintains a perfect balance between the bitter and the sweet. Rosemary, jasmine, and god knows what else. And the Roudnitska trademark: an animalic something or other that anchors the fragrance and serves as a reminder: "this is worn by a person, and it's as alive as its wearer, and to be alive means always to be of the flesh, with the fact that the flesh can sweat, the flesh can rot, the flesh is always at war with the corruptions of aging and stinking and dying." In Eau D'Hermes the reminder is integral to the scent. In Parfum de Therese its subtle, as it is here. It's a bit like what Guerlain famously said about how he put the smell of his mistress's bottom into every perfume. Eau Sauvage has the lurking basenote of the flesh at its naughtiest. But as a fleeting reminder. Anyway, you can own an Original Roudnitska for $50. Can't wait to try Diorella.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My husband got a deluxe sample of this and did not like it (he is currently in an Armani Code phase), so I promptly ganked it. I am a sucker for bergamot and green. Eau sauvage is light, inoffensive, and slightly old-fashioned. Like a previous reviewer says, it smells a lot like Diorella. Eau Sauvage should be marketed as Unisex- like the Bulgari tea fragrances and Eau de Cartier. I really enjoy this and keep my sample in my purse, it layers well with a lot of my POTDs, like Cristalle or no 19, or Hermes Un Jardin en Mediterranée.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2008 11:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Oh, if only my partner would actually wear this! Eau Sauvage is the most optimistic-smelling scent I have ever encountered. All it takes is one spritz (or splash from a decant, in my case) to feel that everything is suddenly okay, that it always was okay, that summer is coming soon, the water will warm, the local sports team will finally triumph and this year I'll actually get a tan. While I wouldn't call this a comfort scent, I find it very reassuring - it is old-fashioned in the best possible sense, and reminds me of my grandpa's house on the Cape, juniper bushes and sandy feet. That said, Eau Sauvage is also very sexy, and while I'd happily wear it myself, I really would prefer that N wear it. Sadly, he only applies the ES I gave him when he goes out with his labmates, and breaks out his jealously-guarded Burt's Bees Bay Rum whenever I visit. In classic clueless male form, he thinks he's doing me a favor. Everyone should have a significant other who wears Eau Sauvage.

As an odd little side note, this scent to me evokes the early '60's. Now, I will freely admit that I did not live through the '60's, and no, I don't even remember the '80's. But the sense of optimism in the face of challenge, of polite dissonance, of impending and massive change on the horizon speak to me. I've now seen several comparisons drawn between this period and the current national sentiment, which are only heightened by the much-evoked Camelot-Obama connection. Yes, it's a stretch, but surely I'm not the only one who finds Eau Sauvage subtly and surprisingly relevant?

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2007 6:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Created in 1966 by Christian Dior


BASE - Amber, Musk, Oakmoss


MIDDLE - Carnation, Coriander, Jasmin, Orris, Patchouli, Sandal,


TOP- Basil oil, Bergamot oil, Cumin, Fruit Notes, Lemon,


I buy it for my Husband so I can use it myself ;-)

This is a classic. I guess it's up to personal taste. I am not keen on floral and strong parfumes and I love Unisex with scent of citrus on them, fresh and clean.

The Design it's super retro I love it , on a day when I wear a suit I like this or even when I wear a Night dress to make it not sooo sweet this gives jusr the right balance.

GORG !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2007 11:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love Eau Sauvage. I actually prefer Diorella, as it's a bit more femme. But these two scents are so similar that they are like twins with so slight a physical difference between them that you would only see it when they're side-by-side. I bought Eau Sauvage for my husband, but he never wears it so I don't think he likes it. I think it is intoxicating, so I wear his. When it runs out I'll probably return to Diorella. It's my favorite summery floral/citrus scent. But Eau Sauvage is magnificent. Men or women can wear it. It's mellower than Eau d'Hadrien, which is also a woody based citrus, and more complex. Not to be overlooked. :-)


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top