Avene Clean-Ac

3.7

44 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: Avene aqua, caprylic/capric trygliceride, carthamus tinctorius, butylene glycol, sucrose stearate, butyrosperm parkil, glycerin, simmondsia chinesis, sucrose distearate, stearyl alcohol, acrylates/c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, bht, bisabolol, butylparaben, cyclomethicone, dimethicone crosspolymer, disodium edta, parfum, isobutylparaben, isopropylparaben, phenoxyethanol, triethanolamine, xanthan gum, zinc gluconate


on 5/15/2015 4:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My dermatologist recommended this cream because of the topical acne treatment I was on. During this time I had dehydrated (not dry) oily skin this was prone to acne. I was a bit cautious about using this cream because it had caster oil in it. I have always been told and have read that skin porducts with oils should be avoided by people with acne prone skin. But I was desperate and started using this cream for about a year. This cream is amazing because it made my skin soft, smooth and hydrated. Shockingly, I did not get any new acne during this time. The only problem was that it made my face look oily/shinny.

Pros:

- hydrating and moisturizing
- soft and smooth skin
- didn't clog my pores
- smelled nice

Cons:

- expensive
- face looked oily (this really bothered me; I looked like a shining diamond!)



on 1/18/2015 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was recommended this product by a sales associate at Shoppers Drug Mart when I needed a moisturizer to soothe my skin while starting an acne treatment of tactuo (AKA epiduo). Overall, I love it! Its very gentle for sensitive acne-prone skin but still moisturizing. When my skin was feeling really sensitive and flaky, I would pair this with Clarins Extra Comfort Toning Lotion (Applied first without a cotton pad...just straight to the skin like a serum. and then the Avene Clean-Ac ontop after the toning lotion had absorbed), which worked wonders!

The only downside to the product is that its pretty pricey for what you get. I feel like there isn't enough product in the packaging and the packaging is very finicky at that (sometimes a lot plops out with a little squeeze and sometimes you need to really squeeze to get a tiny bit out). Maybe that's a result of the formulation itself...it also tends to "separate" a bit at high temperatures (nothing a quick shake won't help).


on 12/30/2014 3:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hi girls. Just today bought this cream and I would like to ask you if this one its a good product to used as a base before make up?


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product together with the clean gel after 7 months on accutane when my skin was literaly super dry, really senitive but clear without a pimple. It really hepled the redness go away and moisturize my skin without oily finish and it makes a good primer as well. But I think in winter I'm gona need i bit more hydratation.


on 3/15/2014 10:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this while I was traveling and the winter was literally destroying my skin and OMG this was so helpful my skin got a lot better after using this product and even when I came back to my country I still use it even thought it is a little too oily for using it at day I use it in my night routine and my skin looks better than ever


on 2/27/2014 2:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I travel by plane and live in hotel about 70% of a year. So I'm constantly stay in very dry rooms. This is how my skin started acting out like crazy about 7 years ago. My skin is stable now and finally I do not need to rely on BP or other acne cream to stay clear after 6 years of battle with acne. I have to say when your skin is unstable and pimples are coming out like crazy. Less is more and gentle is the key. Stay out of the sun and stop putting on makeup and sunscreen. Cleanse your skin thoroughly by very gentle and mild cleanser. I use Bioderma + CeraVe or Cetaphil. Yes, I need both whether or not I have sunscreen and makeup on. After cleansing I also use a mild toner with BHA to wipe my face to really make sure I got the last dirt out of my skin. I use Paula Choice's BHA toner. I think I got carry away from the main topic here. :) Anyways I love this moisturizer. This is especially good when I stay in hotels and right after a long flight. It's moisturizing enough and it calms my skin. This is also good to put on after using BP or other strong acne cream because this crean doesn't burn. I tried many other brands. Although those cream may be more moisturizing, they sting/burn my skin when it mixes with the acne cream/BP. When my skin was really unstable and dry, my face turned red sometimes. However, this cream never caused this issue to me. Try it and see how it works out for you. Everyone may have different reaction but this is a good product and I think it's worth to try. Bottom line is you need to stable your skin first. Less is more and mild is the key. Good luck!


on 1/30/2014 7:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a moisturizer that my dermatologist prescribed to me, aswell as the Cleanance moisturizer. So, I used Cleanance when my skin was very oily in the summertime and I loved the matte finish it gave my skin. But after a while it started being to mattifying and a tiny bit too drying, so my dermatologist prescribed me the Clean-Ac cream, which is supposed to be ideal for oily/combo skin that is dried out and irritated by agressive acne treatments. And THAT is the thing that it just doesn't do. It DOESN'T MOISTURIZE my skin.

Honestly, I used it for a couple of months when I didn't really have any dry patches, and I liked it. But if you do have them, just try and find another more moisturizing cream.
Right now I have reaaaally dry skin and i wanted to try it out again,but it just does nothing for my dry patches. I'm just annoyed because that's the only thing it claims and it should do, but it doesn't...
If you have combo/oily skin with no dry patches, I guess it's ok... Do you need it in your life? Not really. There are much cheaper and better moisturizers out there if you have oily skin. And I actually go through it quite quickly, which I think is just not worth the money. It's about 13euro...


on 1/29/2014 3:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is literally the worst thing that I've ever put on my face!
It made my skin break out like crazy!
Texture is also terrible - rich and very hard to spread over your face...if you put too little it will soak in too quickly and you won't even get the chance to cover the whole face, but put only slightly more and you'll be shiny and greasy. And if you try to rub it in too much - it will start to peel off.
Smell is the same as all avene products, very mild, neutral and discrete.
Usually I can find at least one tiny good thing even in bad products, but there's absolutely nothing I like about this - awful, awful product!


on 7/4/2013 8:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I found this incredibly underwhelming and average. It did nothing for me. I bought it to help my skin recover from over-treatment, and I wanted really mild and soothing products to help my skin return to some sort of normalcy. The description of this product seemed like it would be perfect. But I could have saved myself some dollars by just buying Cetaphil or plain vitamin E cream. And it's the tiniest tube! I thought they might have sent me a sample size by mistake, but nope. Not buying again.


on 4/28/2013 10:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Only meant for people on accutane or dry drying treatments! :) good stuff


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top