Aveda Brilliant Damage Control Spray

3.9

76 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

aqueous extracts: chamomile flower, calendula flower, camellia oleifera leaf extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, polyquaternium-16, polyquaternium-10 (from plant fibre), hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed wheat starch, cocamidopropyl pg-dimonium chloride phosphate (from coconut oil), peg-40 hydrogenated castor oil, soybean il, oryzanol (from rice), tocopherol (from soy), panthenol, pvp, maltodextrin, fragrance, geraniol, linalool, benzyl benzoate, citronellol, eugenol, hydroxycitronellal, limonene, amyl cinnamal, sodium gluconate, potassium sorbate, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol.


on 2/11/2014 1:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product, how it gives my hair shine and smoothness. I even bougt another bottle to put in my gym bag. Howver the scent is very overwhelming. I couldn't use this product the whole tie I was pregnant and still, 3 pumps max so I can't smell the scent all day. The only point down, if it wasn't the scent, perfect product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

I blow dry/flat iron 5 to 6 days a week, and use this spray every time. It protects and helps hold style without adding any bulk or texture. Definitely recommend for others who put their hair through a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2013 12:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have fine, color-treated hair, and a lot of it. Because it is highlighted, my ends easily become tangled, and it is impossible for me not to use a detangling spray after a shower (I was using Johnson&Johnson kids). Of course, because of my highlights and heat styling (I blowdry every other day), I have a large amount of split ends, and I constantly lose hair on my brush when I come, dry, etc.

My mom bought me this because I was looking for a heat protectant -- and I have to say, I absolutely love it. It works far better than the J&J at detangling my hair (I was shocked, it literally combs right through) and I have noticed a DRASTIC reduction in tangled hair left on my brush.

It also has no dimethicone in it (which gives most conditioners and detanglers the 'slip' that you feel), which tends to collect in hair and dull it. As a result, my hair is super shiny every time I use it, and stays that way until the next shower. I use it on wet hair, so the scent usually dissipates enough for it not to bother me (I am sensitive to smell). I have only used it for a few weeks, so I cannot speak to much damage control results, but since my hair has felt silky soft since I've started using it, I'd have to imagine it works.

Bottom line: soft, silky, tangle-free, shiny hair. Less hair loss. I'll be repurchasing for sure.


on 2/16/2013 10:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE 2/28/2015: I did in fact grow to love this product and I have even repurchased it!
It leaves a very natural-looking shine (like very youthful, healthy hair). I have found that the scent fades quickly when applied to wet hair and dries to a barely-noticeable, pleasant scent. I do NOT recommend spraying this on dry hair. The scent does not fade when applied to dry hair.

One thing I have found is that this product dilutes the effectiveness of other styling products-- so I actually don't use it anymore for blow-drying. Instead, I tend to use it for shine and frizz-control on days when I wash but don't blow-dry or style my hair.

UPDATE: I did notice that the scent was much less obvious when I blow-dried my hair after spraying it on wet hair. You can still smell it, but it's much softer and inoffensive. (My review above was based on spraying it on dry hair, or spraying on wet hair and air-drying, before heat-curling.) I still won't repurchase because I can't detect any protective qualities when using it.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I can't tell that it's protecting anything. But the main reason I'm not crazy about this product is the smell.

I generally like the scent of the Brilliant line (I've used several of the products), but this particular one has an overwhelming patchouli scent that does not fade after drying.

I didn't buy this for anything other than heat protection; but in case you are wondering, I just wanted to mention that I did not notice any change in shine, frizz, or detangling when using this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2013 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Excellent when used as a finishing spray to add body and movement. Distinctly unimpressive when used for its other intended purpose as a blow dry protector.
The problem? High alcohol content + heat = well, you know the story!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2013 3:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NC25 Chinese, acne prone, w/ frizzy hair in dry desert climate.


Knowing 'cones in face primers causes breakouts on me, I wanted to avoided using any dimethicones in my hair for blowouts.. as I am way too lazy to do that everyday, so I would be sleeping in it for 2 nights.


So when you are trying to avoid cones against heat styling, you're alrdy on a losing battle.. but I'm going to try anyway. Anyhow this is absolutely watery texture, and I cannot see how it provides any effective heat styling protective measures against blow drying, much less flat ironing. Returned it after a week, and going to test Phytofrisant which is at lesat a gel texture.


on 1/5/2013 8:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What I like about this product: faint chamomile smell, gentle to hair, has UV protection so it protects my expensive color job from fading, good detangler, keeps my hair in good condition when I'm in too much of a hurry to use a conditioner after I shampoo.
What I don't like: This makes my fine and thinning hair poker straight with no body in the winter, so it just hangs there and looks like I have even less hair. It's OK for me during the summer (which I guess is when I need the UV protection the most anyway) but during the winter it just makes my hair look blah when I follow the directions, which say "spray liberally on towel dried hair". It makes my hair easy to comb but utterly limp.
Probably will not re-purchase, but it might work fine for you if your hair is different from mine. Reminds me very much of a Back to Basics detangling spray I used to have that was also chamomile based - but that cost a lot less. I may try what some other reviewers have suggested and apply it sparingly using my hands instead of spraying it on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2012 1:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As far as hairstyle goes, I like a messy look. When I blow dry my hair using Damage Control, I feel like it gets infused in to my hair and I can then create movement in any direction. It's sort of like a cross between a protein treatment and a liquid gel. It's a light hold, but it improves my hairs texture. Love it! I don't know why Aveda SA always try to talk me into buying something else. Always go with your gut.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2012 2:54:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product works pretty well. I have been using it for over a year, and I have noticed that my hair isn't getting as damaged from using the blow dryer and the flat iron. The trick is to use it sparingly, otherwise it can weight down the hair. Just a light spritz is all that's needed. I have also noticed that my hair seems a bit shinier when I use it. I have been disappointed in some other Aveda products in the past, but I do like this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2012 4:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this stuff for years and it does work. I decided to stop buying it once because I was trying not to spend so much time and money on beauty products and I seriously got split ends and breaks from blow drying my hair every day.

I spray only 3-4 pumps after showering and then comb it through with a wide tooth comb. It makes for a good detangler, too. Smells nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Aveda Products

image

Lip Saver

104 reviews
Back to Top