Aveda Pure Abundance

3.7

55 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificata, Purified) Extracts: Althea Officinalis (Marshmallow), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Cetearyl Alcohol, Kaolin, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Honey (Mel), Acacia Senegal Gum, Maltodextrin, Babassuamidopropyl Betaine, Babassuamidopropyltrimonium Methosulfate, Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Methosulfate, Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Stearyl Alcohol, Fragrance (Parfum) (Aveda's Own Pure-fume Aroma With Certified Organic Peppermint, Palmarosa, Ylang Ylang and Jasmine), Limonene, Geraniol, Linalool, Citronellol, Eugenol, Benzyl Benzoate, Citric Acid, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Gluconate, Potassium Sorbate, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.


on 8/21/2014 3:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this stuff. The smell is earthy. The product isn't the most moisturizing in the world, but I find my hair to look better after I use it.. It styles better. I love it.



on 6/9/2014 12:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Very good volumizing conditioner - it pairs perfectly with the matching shampoo, but I've also used it with other brands of volumizing shampoo with good results too. Contains clay, but it doesn't feel like it leaves any residue on my fine/straight hair. If anything, it's very hydrating and smoothing. Unusual for most volumizing lines I've tried. I would repurchase again unless I can find something that performs as well at a lower price point.


on 12/12/2012 1:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is clearly not a conditioner for everyone.
You got to know what you buy with this conditioner or youīll be sorely dissappointed.
FYI: My hair is fine, limp, soft and shoulderlenght, but I have a lot of hair. It gets oily at the roots, but the ends are in good condition as I donīt use heated styling tools or colour/bleach my hair.
This combination causes the problem, that my hair is weighed down by the sheer quantity of hair and the oiliness of my scalp makes my hair look flat.
I never seem to manage to get volume at the crown and most conditioners make things even worse, because they weigh down my hair. I donīt even think about hair masks, because they mean limp hair for days in my case.
To be honest, I have the type of healthy shiny hair without the slightest damage, so I could get away with - gasp- using no conditioner at all.
Enter pure abundance. The conditioner looks like a brown muddy paste and has the typical Aveda signature scent. Itīs hard to describe: A light herbal scent with jasmine, peppermint and ylang ylang.
Be aware of that, because it seems this is a dealbreaker for many people as the scent is a love or hate thing.
I personally love this scent and to me, it smells so clean, expensive and at the same time yummy. I like to smell my hair after using this, because I rarely find something so yummy-smellling as this scent.
The ingredients are quite good and - very important for me- no silicones.
I use the conditioner on wet hair at the ends, not at my crown and rinse it off. I blow dry my hair and Iīm done.
The effect is bouncy hair with a little more body and my hair is not weighed down at all. Seriously, my hair looks like the hair in these shampoo ads, not like my usual not-so-spectacular hair
The conditioner is neither a deep rich repairing conditioner nor will it give you much shine or high gloss finish.
It gives body to the hair and a slight messy beachy effect. My hair is more manageable and not so soft. Makes my hair look like Iīve spent a lot of time to style it.
All this will make this conditioner to the worst nightmare of people with dry, thick, coarse, coloured, bleached, curly or damaged hair. People who like ultra-glossy and ultra-soft hair and a very moisturizing conditioner will also be disappointed.
But for us fine and soft-haired girls, who want body and have more "solid" hair, this is a very good conditioner.
It makes the hair look good, feel fuller and stronger and never weighs your hair down.
When I go for an extra va va voom for my hair, I combine this with the volumizing tonic from Aveda, which I spray on my roots. This is a combination made in heaven for fine, limp hair.
I am really not into styling and blowdrying and spending a lot of time to make my hair look good.
This is an easy product for me to use and gives my hair that messy tousled french chic or out of bed rockstar look with no effort at all.
Itīs pricey, but in the end, it works and Iīd rather buy one product, that works than buying one useless product after another. Because these useless products just stand in my bathroom cabinet and eventually, I throw them away.
Plus, I donīt use conditioner every time I wash my hair, so the bottle will last me a very long time.
I recommend this to all the people with hair similar to mine to get beautiful bouncy and gourgeous smelling hair.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2012 5:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like this at all! It smells nice, but it didn't do a very good job of either conditioning or volumizing! In fact, my usually soft hair feels rough and straw-like after using both the shampoo and conditioner from this line. Wanted this to work for me but it just doesn't.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2011 8:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've never applied conditioner at the roots before trying this, but it actually works and makes my fine hair feel a lot fuller AND soft at the same time. I use it with the matching shampoo and hair spray, and my hair feels and looks wonderful. Light, full, soft, clean and shiny hair. This range delivers softness and volume, which I didn't think would be possible. Makes it a lot easier to style. Nice, thick texture that spreads easily and feels luxurious to use. Smells amazing. It seems perfect for my hair. I've only used it once though, so I will update in a few weeks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2011 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE Aveda! I really do. I tried this on advice from one of their employees, after my hair started falling out drastically when my daughter was 2 months old (curse those post-pregnancy hormones!). It smells lovely. I like the idea of clay conditioner. With that said, the shampoo SUCKS. I don't expect it to lather like crazy (sulfates make those bubbles, and sulfates aren't good for your hair), but this stuff just sits wherever it touches and I cannot for the life of me spread it around. I often get uneven cleansing from it. The conditioner is fine. I like the thickness. I do not like the price. The price is crazy. You'd expect it to be conditioner made with diamond dust or something!

I'd recommend it for for fine haired people- not anybody with dry or course hair, or long hair. I imagine it wouldn't be conditioning enough, and you'd have to use a ton of the shampoo to really clean long hair.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just tried the shampoo and conditioner today because I got a free sample. I did not notice a big volume difference at all, but it did make my hair very soft! The shampoo however does not lather well and you have to use so much of it, and it makes you pull your hair everywhere trying to get it to lather. So not healthy! The conditioner rinsed clean but made my hair feel not that soft right after my shower until it dried. The smell is amazing, but I was disappointed that it only lasts a couple of hours. But go get a sample and try it=] Things work different for everyone!


on 12/4/2010 2:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this conditioner.
My hair is very fine, just above chin length bob, starting to grey and highlighted. My skin is very very sensitive and often reacts to shampoo and/or conditioner - no bad reaction at all with this. Most conditioners leave my hair flat or flyaway but this stuff is awesome. My hair is smooth and shines but feels bouncy and full of life at the same time. Smells nice but not overpowering.
I generally use this after scalp benefits shampoo (beacause I love the smell) but think I will have to try the pure abundance shampoo as the conditioner is so good.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2010 8:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A lovely product. Conditions my hair; improves volume; smells great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2010 12:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have the shampoo and the conditioner and all I can say is HORRIBLE! My hair felt like it had a weird,greasy film on it. I used this for about a week before I had horrible buildup. I had to use a clarifying shampoo THREE times tonight to get the build up out of my hair. It also seemed to make my haircolor bleed out faster. I will say a though it DID give my hair volume but in a weird way....it took my wavy hair and mad it really curly but really chunky and seperated it was weird....I think it might have been okay if I washed by hair and blowdried but I let my hair airdry and it make it clump up in sections or something.....weirdest stuff I've ever used....




Top Rated Aveda Products

image

Lip Saver

104 reviews
Back to Top