MAC Whirl

4.5

166 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/22/2015 7:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this liner so much. It's my everyday lip color. I usually use it by itself on top of chap stick and blend. It's very natural looking and also looks great paired with any nude or pink toned lip stick. It reminds me of the 90s which is my favorite time period. I love the way this looks when I wear it with Tarte Exposed blush. It's an all over, nude matte look. I heard that MAC is releasing a matte lip stick version of Whirl on May 28 (2015). I'm not the biggest lip stick wearer but I will probably try to grab one if they don't sell out, just because I love this color. Definitely recommend this for warm toned skin.



on 5/17/2015 2:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For a second go to of mine for a good lip liner i would deff recommend this shade whirl from MAC to anyone who wants to do that natural plum brown color or fill in the whole lip for a more fuller look to the lips. I use it too fill in my whole lip kindve like the Kylie Jenner look.She stated she has used this particular shade from mac in this lip pencil before.Its deff a good one for sure!!MAC can be a little more then i like to spend but besides that its a great liner:))Go try!!


on 5/9/2015 10:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Could this be the perfect universal lip liner??!! Gorgeous nude with a toss of mauve and rose, like everyone else I saw this referenced to Kylie Jenners lips and wasn't convinced until I saw it on a few YouTube videos being used by girls of all different complexions, including fair blondes like myself.

Not going to lie, I was a bit horrified at first. It looks way darker than I imagined in person, and I was so excited to get it I put it straight on my bare lips. Meshed with my natural lip color whirl looked super dark on me, I wasn't sure I would be able to use it. However, with proper lip prepping with a concealer, primer, and a VERY light hand, this lip liner is bliss. It is really stunning, a very romantic dusty rose color.

I wear this with several lipsticks but my favorite combo is with NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in 'Cannes'. This is *the* Kylie Jenner look for me, I personally found MAC Honey Love (the rumored lip color Kylie uses over Whirl) made me look dead and washed out. I lightly pat on Cannes with my fingertips and my lips look lush and romantic without being obvious or attention seeking.

I also like to use this color in adjunct to some of my other lighter nudes and pinky colors- when I give a good pass or two on the middle 3rd of my bottom lip it gives a subtle dimension that really makes your pout pop.

The packing is basic, the cap fits securely. The pencil is quite long, a quality MAC product. The pencil is generous with pigment (again, use a light hand and layer slowly for best results) and is easy to sharpen, I have not had any breaks or bubbles in the product so far. A little bit goes a long way, and despite the $20 price tag, I think this liner will last me a long time. I will buy again but also experiment with some dupes!


on 5/3/2015 7:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Great shade...works really well and it's easy to find a good matching lipstick in almost any brand. I will definitely repurchase!


on 3/21/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nice but doesnt show up as well as Soar on my nc44 skin tone


on 3/14/2015 8:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is THE perfect Kylie Jenner lipliner! I tend to pair this with Brave lipstick by MAC. Revelation! Go buy it!


on 1/11/2015 4:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I personally think that the Kylie Jenner look is stunning. I love the lip as it is suitable for any occasion (work, school, parties etc). Whirl is a mauvey brown lipliner which I wear with Revlon's Matte lipstick in Mauve it Over (similar to MAC's Velvet Teddy) and/or MAC's Hug Me which gives a glossier look to the lips. Whirl is great for slightly overlining your lips as it won't look too obvious and it gives you a nice full pout (however bearing in mind I do have fairly decent lips to begin with), it's just a beautiful colour and I will forever repurchase!


on 1/8/2015 7:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

@Maddierose420
mac products are quality!!!! you must of gotten a bad batch. Anywho, MAC beure is gorgeous, people tend to prefer it over whirl
Being a cremestick, means that it's an absolute dream to apply, which doesn't pull at the lip as much as a pencil and I much prefer the wind up option rather than having the sharpen it. Both lip liners can be used on their own to create a nice matte lip or can be used as bases for any nude lipstick.

Some people have always been wearing nude lips or red lips..it shouldnt take the likes of kylie or rhianna or beyonce to make something “famous” or acceptable to wear. Overdrawing your lips doesnt make a pouty effect. someone with papercut thin lips can overdraw until kindgdom come but it wont make the lips any fuller. it will create a pouty sexy effect on people who already have full lips. just like mascara wont give you new lashes, it only enhances the ones already there.
STOP BUYING LIP PRODUCTS THINKING THEY ARE MIRACLE WORKERS! so what if Kylie wears whirl? its just a nude pinky pretty color! you wont get full lips from wearing it and it wont make you look like her! Im tired of people getting all types of attitudes because they spent money on makeup and become disappointed when they dont look like kylie's twin!!!! makeup only enhances WHAT YOU HAVE NATURALLY! unless your lips are already full, whirl or spice or beurre wont do diddly squat for you!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this lip liner (2 two be specific, one for me one for my mum) after finding out that kylie jenner wears it.

The colour I do like, but both me and my mum noticed that it is NOT creamy! It drags a lot to apply as well. It makes my lips look all wrinkled, that can be fixed with a little lip balm underneath.

It fades a lot throughout the day, not worth the $30+ AUD I payed each for them. Yes I did buy authentic ones, I bought them from a mac shop in Myers. They weren't dodgy ones since both of them were the same.


on 1/5/2015 1:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Whirl is one of my top five must have makeup items; one of my "desert island" essentials. It's a matte, dirty browned rose that literally goes with almost every lip color on the market. The lasting power is wonderful, and there are no 100% dupes for this in my opinion. NYX Mauve is a tad lighter, and MAC Beurre is richer/ more pigmented and rosier. MAC better not ever discontinued this, because I have been buying it for years and will always need it in my makeup bag :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Liners


Whirl
166 Reviews
Subculture
208 Reviews


Back to Top