Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Concealer

4.2

471 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New formula: Water\Aqua\Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Tribehenin, Magnesium Sulfate, Titanium Dioxide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Dimethicone, Methicone, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Xanthan Gum, Alumina, Trisiloxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, [ /- Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Mica]


on 5/15/2015 9:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I currently have two of these - one in Light and the other in Light Medium. Light Medium is my exact skin shade for face spot concealing, but a tad too dark for under eyes, so I purchased Light to cover some under eye darkness. I really, really, like this concealer. I'd say it's very comparable to Nars Radiant Creamy concealer, but a few dollars cheaper; and you can find it on department store sites on sale more often than Nars. I was very impressed with it's staying power. I am confused by the people that have said it's creased - I haven't had any issues with that at all, and I've been through countless concealers where that has been an issue. Try this -- apply this with a damp Blender sponge, then set with a dry wedge sponge (just the cheap kind from the drugstore) with some fine translucent powder on it (like the Ben Nye kind). Just stamp under the eye and then use a big fluffy brush to take off any excess. This routine is the key for me to get creaseless, natural looking under-eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/22/2015 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the only concealer I can apply on my under eyes. Because it dries matte it doesn't settle in lines under your eyes and doesn't shine like a disco ball - INCREDIBLY hard to find in concealer but thank you Estee Lauder - it took me some years of make up experimenting to appreciate the quality of their products. This is a creamy but finishes matte concealer that is full coverage and very long lasting. I am not a fan of the double wear foundation but this concealer is fantastic. Thank you Estee lauder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used this product for years, but someone pointed out to me that my eyes were too cakey and I was hiding my natural skin color.

I switched to MAC Concealer and I like my look much better!


on 4/18/2015 5:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i had high expectations for this but its waay too drying and cakey for under eyes.


on 4/5/2015 9:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm starting to sample Estee Lauder's Double Wear concealer this week, after getting a makeover with the product week before last.

Coverage: Opaque and buildable.

Application: Pat it in quickly - do not rub.

Color: I'm using the lightest shade. It's quite pale. I want to be paler than I am, so this is consistent with my goals. The hue doesn't seem too pink or too yellow. I'm using it to color correct my rosacea, and it seems to do a pretty good job of that. Some pinkness still shows through, or perhaps it is also darkness, since the red bits of my face are darker than the rest. But I'm finding that darkness issue with other concealers I use, as well.

Consistency: It's thin and liquidy but dry. Sets quickly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 12:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was excited to try this, because of all the rave reviews here. I hoped to finally find a thin, liquid concealer that would be able to cover my dark circles. But I'm awfully disappointed and am very glad I tested it under my eyes before purchasing.

For your colour reference: I'm a nc15-20, bobbi brown concealer in cool sand, and tried this in both #1 and #2. #1 was too light, #2 was a tad too dark and very pink, which, although it doesn't match my skintone, actually got my hopes up for concealing my dark circles. I guess this is an okay concealer if you can find a match in this far from extensive colourselection and don't really have anything to conceal. It is a thicker liquid and blends beautifully. It doesn't accentuate the lines around my eyes at first and feels light on the skin, but after a while it starts to feel dry and make my eye area look like I'm at least 60 years old. It doesn't do anything to cover my dark circles, I look better if I only wear my foundation over a pink primer. I have 1 blue vain under my left eye that is not visible when I put a sheer foundation over it, but it shines right through this concealer. It really doesn't seem to cover anything at all.

I honestly don't understand all the hoopla about this. I wanted to like it, but this has been the biggest concealer disappointment in my make-up history. It seems to work for lots of people here though, so I'd say try before you buy, I know I'm glad I did.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Drying and cakey for undereyes.


on 3/28/2015 5:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great concealer, have no complaints! Would probably buy again!


on 3/27/2015 10:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my HG! I have really dark circles under my eyes and ive tried everything. Color match and coverage are so important. Salmon colors really cover dark circles for me. I don't like when my under eye is lighter than the rest of my makeup. Im not kim kardashian. I am an n20 and i wear this in medium. I recently ran out and tried to go cheaper but ill just have to spend the extra money because nothing tops this stuff. Its not cakey and it doesnt dissapear. You can even apply 2 coats if you wear powder foundation like myself. Apply concealer, set with a powder, apply foundation (bare minerals ready pressed powder) then you can apply another coat and set again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2015 10:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm convinced that this product would have a loyal following if more people knew about it or gave it a chance. The thinness of the liquid is deceiving, because just a tiny bit goes a long way. Not only does it conceal perfectly, but it brightens ever so subtly and makes me look refreshed even when I'm exhausted.

It's a bit on the pricy side imo, but definitely worth it. It comes in a slender tube that is great for sticking it in a bag and heading out for the day. And the applicator tip is exactly like you would find in a lip gloss, which makes it easy to reach those small, awkward spots that need detailed attention.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top