Paloma Picasso Paloma Picasso

3.7

98 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/6/2015 2:01:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I first became acquainted with this when I asked my hair stylist what fragrance she wore .
It was 1992 , but the smell was sophisticated and elegant . After finding it was "Paloma Picasso " I asked my husband for a bottle for a Christmas gift. It proved to be a scent that elicited compliments and it was a fragrance that stayed with me all day .

There are no others like this sultry attention getter , and it is almost always on the list of most popular fragrances if you check out websites that sell perfume. There is a reason! It is classy , sophisticated and SEXY in an understated way . It says " I know who I am " and do not need to follow the crowd . Not " trendy " , just a womanly timeless classic .

I own MANY fragrances , but this one is a standout and I never tire of it . As a matter of fact , I just lucked on to a new bottle of the parfum at Marshall's and am enjoying it again. If you want a fragrance that is ultra feminine , spicy , not syrupy , and would complement your best handbag and favorite blazer , snag a bottle of this .

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/26/2014 9:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a review of the paloma Picasso in the white circular bottle, not black. (If you click on the last photo above, there are a few views of a white bottle).

If you like Agent Provocateur in the pink egg, but want to see the concept carried even further, this is a possibility. If you were horrified by AP, then no need to try this. No sugar. Not girly or frilly or fruity. As sugar free as Aromatics Elixir.

Challenging, magnificent, austere, elemental, animalic, yet not indolic/urinous on me or overtly musky on me. Statement making. Well blended in the sense that when you smell it, there doesn't seem to be a lot of components that stand out. If this is an 'old lady' fragrance, and I hate that term, the old lady was a super model in her prime when she wore this. It references an era before fragrances became gourmand sugar bombs but after the classic 1970s leather moss chypre. It's not as green as Ivoire de Balmain.

PP makes me want to retest my vintage Guerlain Parure extrait in the original round topped with a gray wave crested stopper. It's a statement along that line.

I should mention that I hate silage and spray atomizers and believe perfume should ideally come in extrait and be dabbed, lying close to the skin. This is especially true of a powerhouse fragrance.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A nice sharp floral fragrance that really smells like 80`s


on 5/26/2013 4:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is $20 at TJ Maxx right now. I wore this and for hours I felt like I was walking around with obvious B.O. ...it's animalistic for sure!


on 5/22/2013 6:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I don't like this it's too 80's and masculine and old woman smell all in one


on 8/17/2012 10:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I adore this! It's gorgeous and so sophisticated and has amazing staying power.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2011 3:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Paloma picasso is my grandmas, aunts and mom fragrance! It's a 80's parfum, strong, floral, rich,very complex and womanly! A woman who's confident, elegant and sophisticated; with a real sense of style!!! The fragrance does the job creating a luxurious aura around you! The notes are well balanced, longevity is great, do not over apply could be overpowering! Maybe it's not the best choice for a young crowd but for somebody who grown up smelling on mom's grandma cabinet and appreciate a well done fragrance it's for you! Right now I'm on old ladies fragrance mood, trying to handle it on my own way; that's something beautiful about fragrances that they really transport you to a lovely past bringing to you old good memories!!!! Definitely a hall of fame fragrance;) package quality 4/5 take one lippie of for the bad plastic cap that don't stay in place, anyway it's a memorable designer fragrance.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2011 5:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was in high school when this came out, and I didn't feel self-possessed enough to wear it then. I liked it immensely, but for me it projected a ballsy sexuality best suited for a grown woman. Well, now I'm grown and I can rock this stuff with the best of 'em. PP is absolutely a masterpiece of a chypre.It's deep, rich, and elegant, like a beautifully tailored black leather coat-- or bustier, for that matter. I can usually spot it right away on someone else; it's different enough from other dry chypres like Aromatics Elixir and Magie Noire that it truly has a signature all its own. I LOVE that about it. Yes, it's a bit large and bombastic, like the '80s, but I haven't found any more current fragrances that offer quite the same rounded complexity and womanly depth. Oakmoss, oakmoss, and more oakmoss, skillfully woven with dark flowers and woods, giving a finish that is almost soothing and herbal, like a walk through a loamy forest at night. I can see where people feel "clean" wearing this, but in a much different way than Bath & Body Works feels "clean." PP is not a personal deodorizer; it's meant to work with skin chemistry rather than hiding it. The EDP of this works wonderfully on my skin, better than other chypres, which sometimes get sidelined into indolic or "dirty" notes that turn me off. I am careful to only buy vintage (black glass bottle) versions of this, as I find the current one being sold has been altered for the worse.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2011 12:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beware of old bad tester bottles and knock offs. If you smell this and it smells cheap, strong, or "old lady" :/ I would say you got a bad bottle. This edp is really fresh smelling without being too wimpy or light.
On my skin it starts out fresh, almost like one of my husbands colognes, but rounds out after about two hours and becomes softer and warmer with just a hint of incense.
Right now I have some on my sweater I swear it smells like a slightly ?better? version of Ralph Lauren Romance. This fragrance has been described as provocative and sexy, but to me it is not either of those. It's good for all seasons, all occasions.


on 11/6/2011 12:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought a knock off of this. I don't know how true my knock off is to the real deal because I've never smelt it. I bought the knock off because of all the great reviews on here. At first when I had sprayed this it came out smelling like an old lady. I was confused since there were so many good reviews about this! I think what I was smelling was the citrus in this and I truly do dislike citrus fragrances. Well I decided to give it a try since I have a huge bottle sitting in my closet and wore it for a day. Well I am so glad I gave it a try! It starts off very strongly smelling like grandma's nasty perfume and settles into a deep clean scent (it was written that there's woods & greens fragrance to this which is what I must like in it). I feel that this would be a very good late fall, winter, and early spring perfume. The scent just reminds me of clean and so I'll probably wear this daily until I buy a different one I like more. Then it'll be my go-to perfume when I feel dirty/gross.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top