Urban Decay NAKED Basics

4.4

399 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I really do like this product. As usual with UD eye shadows, the powders are pigmented and easy to blend. I do always get quite a bit of fallout with these shadows though, even after tapping my brush. However, despite all of the neutral eye shadows in the drugstore, I would repurchase this for the quality - drugstore (aside from Wet n Wild, but their most neutral palettes tend to just be trios) shadows can't compare.
For being "basic" this palette is quite versatile. You can do a barely-there look, a neutral look, a smoky look, etc. This is my go-to.
I will say, the UD Naked Basics 2 has a better shade selection, IMO. I personally never use Foxy or WOS.
All in all, a great palette with so many different looks waiting to be created from it!



on 5/8/2015 7:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a guru classic for a reason, providing a decent amount of a range of colors in useful amounts. If you don't like any one color, it's not like you've invested in a full pan; if you're into combination "looks" the mix of choices will be useful. I like this because I tend to migrate towards light or neutral matte eye looks, so the colors fill needs I already have. I can use a dab of Venus to brighten my inner eyes, or some Crave to enhance my eyeliner; combining the inner colors, especially Walk of Shame and Naked 2, gives me a good range of daytime looks for pale skin. The pigmentation means I don't have to fuss too much to get even coverage, and the fineness of the powder makes it easy to blend out or into another color. I'd highly recommend this for almost any user of eyeshadow who fits any of the above criteria.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2015 9:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

UD Naked Basics (Original) is my first ever palette. I had no expectations whatsoever, all I thought about was owning a simple, versatile, and convenient makeup product. Here are my thoughts... :)

1. I really like the packaging. Sleek, compact, and sturdy.

2. I'm very much into matte formulas than shiny or glittery ones so I was pleased that majority of the shadows were matte. But I do like the one shimmery shadow. It works really well as a brow bone and tear duct highlight. lol

3. Since the shades are neutral nudes (does that make sense?) you are free to do a lot of different eye looks. From a soft brown to just defining your eyes for an everyday look to a bold, strong statement smokey look. :P

4. The color pay-offs are the beesssstttttt. Super pigmented. Smooth, buttery. Easy to blend. (thumbs up)

5. I just wish the shapes were different other than UD's signature rectangular shape. Especially for this palette since it's quite small and gives you a lot of experimenting with different looks the amount of product could've been a lot more.

6. $30 for the palette is a tad expensive for me. Maybe $25 would've been better? Too small and lacking on more product for 30 dollars. :(

7. The brown shade (Faint) is P E R F E C T for an eyebrow powder. Can't explain any further.

8. Ideal for travelling cuz of it's versatility and size.

Overall, I looove this palette. I'd re-purchase it. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2015 9:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Unreal pigmentation, fantastic glide on with a good brush, brilliant staying power even without a primer, brilliant blend ability and sleek packaging.


on 3/30/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

i love mattes and i love neutrals - this is the perfect combo! all of these shades work very well together but the shade i use the most is definitely WOS for when i'm too lazy to do a eyeshadow look but i still want my lids to look awake. i wish UD sold WOS as a single, though. :( but, these are still some very nice pigmented eyeshadows. i've had no problems blending them with a base color underneath.


on 3/20/2015 1:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I really like this palette because I don't have to feel like I am wasting the other shades I do not use. In the basics palette, i use 4 colors. Pretty much every color except the black. (because I am typically not an out there makeup person) But overall I love all the colors in this palette! I would totally recommend this to anyone who wants a simple palette without paying a ton:)
One concern I do have is Venus is very chalky in my palette. It tends to go everywhere when I use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

Honestly, I've had this product for a while and even though these are all neutral colours, I just can't seem to make them work for me. The colours all look ruddy on me and they're also very boring. Not worth any of the hype whatsoever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2015 1:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my "work horse" products. It doesn't look exciting or glamorous, but I use it at least four times per week. I LOVE this palette. Here's why:

Packaging - Excellent
Sturdy but lightweight. The mirror is huge for the palette size. The case snaps firmly shut, and even takes a little extra pulling to open the first few times.

Price - Excellent
The math works out to a little over $5 per shadow - a bargain.

Quality - Excellent
These are soft, highly pigmented shades. Some don't like UD matte shadows, claiming they are too dry. This isn't a problem for me. If you are (understandably) gun-shy about this, swatch it in the store, or even dab some on your eyelid. I get that, for the price, you want it to be a palette that works with your skin.

Shadows - Amazing
Venus is a lovely shimmer highlighter with a slight yellow tint. In a pinch, I use it on my face as a highlighting powder, applying with my finger.
Foxy and W.O.S. (walk of shame) are good matte lid colors and blending shades, Foxy being warmer and W.O.S. being on the cool side. I use them both.
Naked 2 is a cooler matte tan, perfect for blending into the crease or softening darker shades. This is my favorite color in the palette.
Faint is a gorgeous matte milk chocolate brown. It blends well with most browns, and warms up the greyer ones (important for me, since I have yellow undertones - cool shades can make me look dead).
Crave is a beautiful matte black that can work alone, blended out into a grey, or crank up the depth of any shade you have. It's also my go-to smokey eye black shade.

Less experienced/mature makeup lovers may look at this palette and go, "Boring!" But they aren't seeing its incredible versatility and beauty. Naked 2 and Faint are great brow powders - throw on a bit of brow wax or Vaseline, gently fill in, and your brows will look shapely and neat. Taking this palette along on a trip means you already have your brow powder, highlight shade, and black in one small package.
More on versatility: Take any "scary" shade you might want to try - bright yellow, green, or red, for example. You can use Naked Basics to crank up the glam or make it wearable. One of my favorite ways to use this palette is to take a gorgeous warm shimmer shade (a Milani gel shadow, or my favorite, Coppering by MAC) and blend it into a wearable warm look with Foxy on the lid, Naked 2 in the crease, and a touch of Crave in the outer corner. Yesterday I deepened a purple look (MAC Haux and Cranberry) with Crave, and used Venus as a highlight.
For an elegant no-makeup look, use Foxy on your center and outer lid, Venus on the inner third including the corner, blend Naked 2 in your crease, and softly line with Faint.
The possibilities are endless.
I haven't tried Naked Basics 2; as I said before, cool toned shadows aren't flattering on me, but you cooler toned folks may find it as amazing as I find NB1. I use this so much more than my other Naked palettes, and ALWAYS use it to supplement them when I do.
This palette is varied without being overwhelming, and it will actually help you get more wear out of your other eyeshadows. I cannot recommend it highly enough.


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2015 8:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

What I like most about this palette is that it's portable and better quality than drugstore. For the price of $27 I wish I loved it more. Overall I've come to learn that I enjoy my Lorac Pro 2 and Too Faced Chocolate Bar palettes more than my UD Naked and Naked Basics Palette. I just find that the shadows are slightly more dry than I prefer. My skin is very pale right now, about NC15, and the 3 lightest shades don't really show up on my skin that well or make much of a difference. I have Virgin (the shimmery shade) in the Naked palette as well and I don't love it as a highlight, although I still use it out of convenience, but its a little too white metallic shimmery for me. The taupe gray, brown, and black shades are absolutely fabulous in pigmentation and pretty much make up for the disappointment in the lighter three shades. I use the black shade to set my L'Oreal gel liner and it never irritates my water line. The darker shades have great lasting power. This palette isn't something I would repurchase because I like to try out new things but if you LOVE UD shadows this would be something nice to try. My suggestion for how to make this palette better would have been to include a very light matte highlight shade and swapped out either foxy or w.o.s. for a neutral shimmery lid shade.


on 3/2/2015 9:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Luv this palette. Even though the colours are VERY basic, the quality is top notch. Pigmentation and staying power is terrific. I only wish there were a couple of additional colours to play with to have more variety, then it would reach holy grail status.

I own several neutral palettes but reach for this one a lot.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
66 Reviews
NAKED
2241 Reviews
The Nudes
73 Reviews
NAKED3
369 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Simple Daily Makeup Tutorial (Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette) by Anna Boroshok



Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

141 reviews
image

Vice 2

42 reviews
image

Smog

183 reviews
image

Half Baked

195 reviews
Back to Top