Max Factor False Lash Effect 24 Hour Mascara

3.3

19 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/19/2015 7:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Is this a great mascara? Yes
Does it give a false lash effect? No

I love this mascara, it gives such a gentle, natural curl to eyelashes, which I love, particularly with my eyelashes, which tend to point down a bit. It's not drying or flaky, I didn't find, and isn't too watery or clumpy, but a nice in between.

It has quite a big wand, which I often don't prefer or find to be an advantage, but it still works nicely without being too hard to control, and the bristles are a soft plastic, which I find preferable for some unknown reason... I think it makes for fewer clumps!

You can always tell if someone has a lovely curl to their lashes that they're wearing it, I recall seeing the unique, circular curl a few times and asking people if they used this mascara. It's great at separating the lashes too, which is great.

It doesn't do much as far as lengthening goes, but is great for volume and separation, and is the only mascara I've ever found that doesn't make my lashes go in an odd/different direction, which can't be a negative. I reckon it would probably take about 2-3 coats to get your lashes particularly thick with this mascara, but that's not the effect I go for so it isn't a problem for me.

My favourite mascara, completely recommend! Just not for a false lash effect <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/9/2014 9:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

In many ways this is a really great mascara. Unfortunately the drawbacks makes it absolutely horrible.

This does give me the most beautiful eyelashes I have ever had. No clumping at all, great separation, extreme hold.
And it definitely stays on for 24 hours without any drizzle or flaking. Actually, it stays on for just about forever.

This thing will not come off.
Normally I remove my mascara with coconut oil and water without any problems. This mascara ended up defying coconut oil and two makeup removers meant for waterproof mascara. It didn't come off until i washed my eyes with hand soap!
I went out and bought the Lancome double action remover, which is the best remover available to me here in Denmark, and while that did work it took me about 5 applications and lots of vigorous rubbing which really isn't healthy. I lost a lot of eyelashes in the process.

Furthermore, when I applied the mascara it made my eyelids burn like hell. I cannot for the life of me apply mascara without getting loads on my eyelids, and few minutes after my eyelids were on fire. The next day the skin was flaking off.

It should be noted that I in no way have sensitive skin. I never have issues with flaking skin or irritations, or loss of eyelashes.


on 11/22/2014 4:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My holy grail! This mascara fullfils my expectations. Lasts all day and makes my lashes look beautiful. I've tried lots of different mascaras, the high-end ones and the drugstore ones. None of them could make me pleased. This is the one I always come back to! The lashes look lovely and are nicely separeted. I've received so many compliments. Love this mascara ❤️


on 11/8/2014 10:00:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this mascara!! Completely waterproof (passed the shower and swimming test, didn't move an inch) and makes your lashes look long and volumised ALL DAY.
This applies like a dream but does tend to clump towards the end of the bottle, easily sorted and only really happens when you're nearly running out of the stuff. I've had so many comments on how long and thick my lashes are since i started wearing this and it doesn't irritate my eyes at all, it also removes really easily for a waterproof mascara!
It's slightly more expensive than other drugstore mascara's but totally worth every penny, recommend this to everyone!
(The only con i would say is that fact that lashes do feel quite hard to touch but nothing major)


on 7/4/2014 5:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this mascara. It makes my lashes look great and never flakes or smudges even if I wear it when swimming. It does need an oily remove.


on 4/17/2014 11:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought it because in the store, they didn't have the normal False lash effect mascara. I applied it in the morning, and to me, it wasn't particularly volumizing. I have pretty long lashes, but it didn't make them look special. So I was pretty disappointed, because I paid it 10 ... but then came the evening. And I seriously thought for a minut that I will have to cut my lashes to remove this mascara.

My usual routine is that I wet my face with warm water, then I gently rub my eyes and my face with some cleansing gel. Usually, that's enough to remove most of the makeup I wear on my eyes. However, the mascara didn't budge. So I took my miscellar water that is efficient against waterproof mascara, and I applied a cotton pad that I left for 30 seconds on each eye before rubbing gently. Some flakes of mascara came off, but my lashes were still coated. I had to take oil to remove it. And even though I thought I managed to remove it, I had some traces of mascara on my pillow in the morning.
It went directly in my bin.


on 2/4/2014 4:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'd read reviews about the regular max factor false eye lash effect and having been impressed, I decided to try it for myself. I normally use YSL Shocking mascara which is excellent but a little expensive and so was looking for a mascara of similar quality but with a cheaper price tag. Too good to be true perhaps? When in store I noticed the 24 version and seeing as I work long hours, thought a long lasting mascara would suit me. However, this mascara was such a disappointment. The formula was sticky and so ended up clumping my eyelashes together. The main problem came when I tried to remove it a few hours later. This was an impossible task! I use a good quality eye make remover which has always been great yet it did not touch the mascara. After attempting several times, my eyes were quite sore. Eventually the only thing which would remove it was baby oil and even this took a few applications and in the process I lost count of how many eyelashes I lost! My eyes are not particularly sensitive but the following day when I woke, they were swollen and puffy. I'm not sure if this was a result of the mascara, the baby oil, the constant rubbing to try to remove the stuff or a combination of all three. I will not be buying this again.


on 12/16/2013 2:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This was my last mascara. I really loved using it before in finished. I have rather long lashes, I could say, and with just a few applications of this my eyes looked great. I loved it!


on 12/3/2013 8:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like the original False Lash Effect, so I tried this one out too.
As far as I can tell the brush is the same as the original, which I love.
It's impossible to take off of my lashes. I use baby oil then makeup remover and it still takes a lot of time.
The formula is a bit watery, but the biggest problem is that the wand picks up way too much of it. I think that is why a lot of people dislike this mascara. But once I take the excess off the wand (a lot, about 80%...), then it works great!


on 9/17/2013 11:00:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

In terms of formula and quality, this is an okay mascara. I have no complain and nothing to rave about. I just don't like the packaging, it's big and unpractical.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
424 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews


Top Rated Max Factor Products

image

Masterpiece Max

237 reviews
Back to Top