Hourglass No. 28 Primer Serum

4.2

39 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Cocoate, Dimethiconol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Ceramide 3, Sphingolipids, Jojoba (Simmondsia Chinensis) Oil, Rose Hips Seed Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Sweet Almond (Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis) Oil, Green Tea (Camellia Sinensis) Oil, Olive (Olea Europaea) Oil, Hazelnut (Corylus Americana) Oil, Borage (Borago Officinalis) Seed Oil, Kukui (Aleurites Moluccana) Nut Oil, Cherry (Prunus Avium) Pit Oil, Tocopherol, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Linoleate, Panthenyl Triacetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ascorbic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Dioctyl Succinate, Peg-8, Tridecyl Stearate, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Lithospermum Officinale Root Extract, Octyldodecyl Myristate, Citric Acid, Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia) Oil, Geranium (Geranium Maculatum) Oil, Rose Geranium (Pelargonium Roseum) Oil, Vanilla (Vanilla Planifolia) Oil, Clove (Eugenia Caryophyllus) Oil, Orange (Citrus Aurantium Dulcis) Peel Oil, Petitgrain (Citrus Reticulata) Oil, Amyris (Amyris Balsamifera) Oil, Benzoin Siam Absolute, Lemon (Citrus Medica Limonum) Peel Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Oil, Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalis) Leaf Oil, Bois De Rose (Aniba Rosaeodora) Oil, Cedar (Thuja Occidentalis) Leaf Oil, Ylang Ylang (Cananga Odorata) Oil.


on 4/20/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

O my! LOVE this! I tried it on my hand at sephora and i was rubbing and rubbing and it was SO soft! So i bought the smaller size (from experience, their primers expire very quickly i think, i had the mineral veil in a small bottle too and within 6 months the smell changed a lot).

So back to the product, this feels siliconey on the skin but nothing like smashbox for instance, it's very smoothing and hydrating and the foundation just glides over it. I also noticed that my foundation and bronzer lasted a lot longer on my skin which is usually not the case.

It is very watery, so be careful with the pump, and half a pump is usualyl okay for the whole face.

Love it!



on 2/24/2015 11:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The make up gods have finally answered my prayers ! Now I have been through my share of primers trust me you name it I've tried it and some of the best brands and nothing can handle my flakey dry at the same time oily - acne prone - sensitive to fragrance and everything else for that matter skin. This wowed me. I usually test primers out on days that I work to see how they hold up. Now this was suggested to me by a girl at sephora - she told me for my skin I need more then a primer I need a serum for more hydration but has primer qualities and that's what I got. This stuff is truly amazing. I got a sample because I was a little apprehensive because of the price but I tested it out because I'm desperate. Minimized my pores - made my make up go on smooth - controlled most of my oil but didn't make me more oily - no flakes - no breakouts - at the end of the day my make up was flawless. Yes I still get oily but not crazy oily my make up doesn't look like crap at the end of the night. Honestly this is worth the price and I would highly re commend to anyone with skin like mine. One pump goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2015 2:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this product for the fact that I have ultra dry skin and it certainly helps to maintain the flakiness of winter and Retin-A. I don't however think it works that great at keeping makeup in place. The Hourglass Mineral Veil does a better job at that but won't moisturize as well. I have't found a better primer so I will continue to use this until I find something else I like. It's also the most expensive primer I've ever purchased. i don't mind spending money but something about spending a lot on a primer urks me but the product supposedly has ingredients that help maintain skin overall.


on 1/14/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful primer to use under heavier cream type foundations, my Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer and Bobbi Brown Stick foundations especially look great over this. Nothing smooths my dry patches quite like this does. In the summertime I can get too oily if I wear this all over, but in the fall and winter it is the PERFECT primer for me.


on 1/8/2015 11:29:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my go to foundation primer. I originally was attracted to this primer because of its treatment properties and love the way my face feels after I apply. I have found that the key in application is the amount. I usually use a small pearl sized drop, rub finger tips together and apply to my face. I allow a couple of minutes for it to settle into my face before applying make up. During the warm months I do switch to Hourglass Veil Primer. I have had no issues with breakouts or oiliness with my dry/combination skin and I find the herbal scent very pleasing. Although decidedly more expensive than others it is so worth it since only a small amount is needed!


on 12/28/2014 4:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This primer was recommended to me by a Sephora SA when I asked for a moisturizing primer to use under my KVD Lock It.
I have very dry skin and during winter I hate not being able to wear my matte foundations.
This worked phenomenally. It is very hydrating.
PACKAGING:
The packaging is glass. I buy the smaller one for $22 and if i use it every day it will last me about 2-3 months. The pump gives you really great control.

I only use half a pump -to a pump- for my whole face, as was recommended by the SA. You dont need much. I dont see that it makes my foundation last any longer but it does create a very smooth and moisturized surface for my drier foundations. That is why I continue to repurchase this product. it allows me to wear heavier coverage foundations.

Overall, I think it's worth it if you have very dry skin or dry flaky spots you want to give
an extra boost of moisture to. I also like mixing it into my Kvd lock it which is a bit hard to spread on my face and it fixes that problem.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have extremely dry skin. Despite moisturizing with almost every product on the market (serums, creams) and exfoliating, I cannot get foundation to look good on me due to flakes. Enter Hourglass No 28. This product has literally transformed my makeup. I apply this after my sunscreen and do not even both with moisturizer any more. I just use this. It is amazing. My face now looks supple and radiant. It is expensive, but well the cost. If you have super dry skin you will love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2014 10:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Yes this primer is quite expensive, probably twice the price of most other department store brands. Everything about it is luxurious, the bottle, the formulation, the fragrance. The No. 28 primer serum comes housed in a beautiful heavy glass bottle with a pump. It has a nice gentle lavender/herbal fragrance that makes just makes it a bit more pleasurable to apply. The formulation/feel is what sold me though, I swatched this at Sephora. It felt so smooth and satiny when I blended it into the back of my hand. Dispenses as a clear serum as the name implies. Great primer for dry skin, and the only dry skin friendly primer I know of that isn't shimmery. Even after a full day of work my makeup looks flawless. This is definitely a unique product as far as primers are concerned. I would repurchase as I can't think of anything else that comes close.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2014 12:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has to be the best primer out there. It leaves me with a smooth appearance and reduces the size of my pores. It is light and you only need very little. A lot of other primers cause me to breakout but this one hasn't. I have been using this for almost two years now and still no complaints. Sometimes this is all I use before I got out without using any coverup.
A bit pricey but it lasts for a long time. The only thing that I have bad to say is that it comes in a glass bottle and makes me nervous because I have dropped a bottle of it already and it broke in my bathroom. But I love this product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2014 10:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this, but not for all over the face. I have combination skin with fine lines around my eyes. I use this just around my eyes before makeup, especially in the winter when I get more de-hydrated. And I made a brilliant discovery one day when I was tired after work. It makes touch-ups look fabulous. Rather than taking off my face makeup and re-doing it before going out for the evening, I spread a tiny amount of this on areas that might get cakey with foundation and re-applied a small amount of liquid foundation. You'd never know I didn't start from scratch. For a less oily overall primer the Hourglass Mineral Veil (the white one) is great, though probably not for the T-zone in the summer. For my T-zone I use the Becca mattifying primer. So, basically, in the summer I've combined three primers for different areas of my face, but it really works.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top