Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Travel Essentials: Essential Foundation / Multi Task / Domed Shadow

4.4

47 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/28/2015 6:54:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love these brushes and use them regularly and my favourite is the multitask brush. The only problem with then is that they are way too expensive in Australia, that being said I won't have to buy them again any time soon because they are very good quality.



on 5/24/2015 2:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I like this brush collection. The brushes are better than my EcoTools and e.l.f. brushes.
Includes 3 Full-Size Brushes + Case:
- Essential Foundation Brush: Build flawless custom coverage with liquid foundation or concealer
- Multi Task Brush: For effortless application of powder, blush and bronzer
- Domed Shadow Brush: Tapered design smoothly shades and defines eyes
- Panoramic Case: Dual carrier and stand keeps brushes organized on your counter or on the go. $18 by iherb dot com, I think it's cheap for 3 good brushes+case. I have a coupon code for this site if you want order the first time: VIK284 and you have 5$ off.


on 3/22/2015 1:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have a few real techniques brushes that I LOVE and can't live without in my brush collection. This set, however, is not one of them. I bought this set mainly for the "multitasking brush". I heard SO MANY great things about this brush. How it's fluffy but tapered, how it's somewhat pinched at the ferrule so that it kinda looks flat, making it great for contouring, highlighting etc. This brush left me quite disappointed. There's nothing all that "special" about it. It's just your average run of the mill brush. The tapered foundation brush that came with this set was purely AWFUL. It felt scratchy against my face! I use this to set loose powder under my eyes and it felt super prickly. I winced every time the brush touched my skin! The ONLY brush that I actually liked was the eye shadow brush. Ironically, that was the brush i didn't think i'd be ecstatic about. The eyeshadow brush is great for blending eyeshadow. You get the PERFECT application of shadow with this brush. If you want blending that's absolutely FLAWLESS, this is the brush to use! I can get a beautiful soft smokey eye with just this one brush alone! Unfortunately the price $18CDN isn't worth it for 1 brush. Even though this set comes with 3 brushes.... only 1 out of the 3 brushes worked out for me. It's not worth keeping. i will be returning this set.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like all Real Techniques packs and individual brushes. However, I do find that each pack has a brush that I would change, huh... I love the multi task brush (the pink one)! I think it's perfect for any powder product- amazing as a brush or bronzing brush too! The foundation brush (the gold one) is OK, but I don't like flat brushed for foundation because I don't feel they are doing such a great job. However, I did find that this brush works really well with liquid highlighters and creamy blushes. The eyeshadow brush (the purple one) is too big in my opinion, but it's a great brush to have anyways. It's good if you are using only on shade of shadow and don't need to be very precised. It's great for blending! Bottom line- get it!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The bristles of the brush is too hard, and is basically scratching my face! I very much regret buying two sets of RT brushes. I should have just buy one brush to try.
It's such a waste of money. All the raves about RT brushes turn out to be a big lie and disappointment!


on 5/5/2014 7:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like them a lot!
Even that I have the Core collection and the Starter set, the brushes that comes with this set are a must have!
- The foundation one is great and better that the one that comes with core colection, it's bigger, so it's very good for it's purpose.
- Domed shadow is great for smuding and for base shadow.It fits perfectly.
- Multi Task is my beloved one among of all those 3. It's perfect for blush, and perfect for loose powder too.


on 4/13/2014 3:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Most people say these brushes are soft but my foundation brush and domed shadow brush from this kit have super scratchy sharp bits that prick my skin. There must be an inconsistency with quality with this brand. It feels so horrible and makes my eyes and cheeks red. There are NO returns for cosmetics and tools in my country so I had to simply throw them out.

My multi task brush is super soft, so no issues there. However, the handle is VERY heavy and chunky compared to her other large brushes, it doesn't balance well in the hands and is a chore to use. It doesn't fit well in any of my brush cases. It doesn't spread powder as evenly as the Powder or Blush brush, which I prefer. If I had to pick one do-it-all powder/blush/bronze for travel I'd take the Blush Brush and leave the larger Powder Brush at home.

Pretty annoyed for paying all that money to get just one usable brush though. Retail is around US$45 US here :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2014 8:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

PROS

- soft
- blends product well
- convenient brush holder
- no shedding

CONS

- not sold individually

COMMENTS: Great quality brushes, very affordable. I love the brush holder it comes with, as well. Below are my uses for each brush:

Essential foundation brush - foundation/concealer placement, liquid contour/highlight placement
Multitask brush - powder, blush, bronzing
Domed shadow brush - brow bone, contour nose, crease work

Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2014 5:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Nothing special here.
I found this set at Winners for $16.99 Canadian and pocked it up since I heard so much hype about these brushes.
First let's start off with the multitask brush. It's recommended to be used with powder, but I find that this brush makes my powder goes on unevenly and creates a cakey look. The bristles are also too dense and stiff to pick up powder well. Instead of using this for powder, I use it to buff in my foundation. It makes the job very quick and easy since it is a relatively large brush. I get an airbrushed finish that's very even and natural. It's a little difficult to get into small parts of the face, but I use a different brush for that.
Next is the foundation brush. It really is a basic foundatiom brush, nothing special. It doesn't make my foundation streaky but it doesn't give as mice as a finish as any of my other brushes. Since it's flat, I use it to pack on powder underneath my eyes to set my concealor and keep my eyeliner from transferring.
Last is the domed shadow brush. This is probably my least favourite brush in this set. I use it with powder shadows. For laying down colour, this brush sheers it out and isn't precise enough to keep the shadow from exceeding my lid space. For putting in the crease colour, I find it lays down unevenly. For blending, it leave smy eyeshadow blotchy.
In terms of design, I think the handles as too blotchy and the choice of bristles could have been better. The bristles take forever to dry and soap doesn't rinse out cleanly.
I definately wouldn't recommend this set.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2014 12:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really bought this for the domed shadow brush as I heard its a great concealer brush and that it is. The Ecotools Airbrush concealer brush, while also a good brush, has nothing on this. It blends concealer seamlessly and buying this whole set is worth it for this brush alone.

However the other two brushes are also excellent. The multitask brush is the perfect powder brush. I have the Real Techniques Powder brush which is incredibly soft and fluffy but its too big to get powder around my face evenly. The Multitask brush is fluffy enough to distribute powder, small enough to get powder where it needs to go.

The foundation brush was the one I though would end up in the bottom of my makeup drawer never to be seen again because I prefer the Expert Face Brush, but I found that this brush is perfect for cream or liquid highlighter. I got the idea from a Lisa Elridge video on how to highlight; she uses a similar style of brush in her technique. I use it to apply my NARS Multiple in Copacabana to the tops of my cheeks, above each brow and on the bridge of my nose. It gives a much more subtle, blended highlight than I get if I apply with my fingers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

93 reviews
image

Shading Brush

34 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

116 reviews
image

Core Collection

218 reviews
Back to Top