Sigma F30 Large Powder Brush (was SS150)

3.4

14 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is (to me) the pimp daddy of powder brushes. Big, fluffy, and soft, with a nice long handle. It does a great job dusting a fine layer of powder. I don't need much because my skin is dry, and this really helps to apply the bare minimum needed.
Yes, it has occasionally shed a piece or two, but even my natural hair high end brushes that I have had for 30 years do. I think for the price it is a gorgeous brush!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As I have said with a few of the other Sigma brushes, like it's name has been changed, so have the brushes. The brushes were always excellent, but the brush handles could have been improved upon. The handles are now at least a little noticeably stronger, and brushes soft and smooth as always. Will be buying this brush in the future. Cleaning is easy too, and easy to shape.


on 3/25/2014 10:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just use this brush because I don't have another powder brush at the moment. I've had it for more than a two years now. It sheds every time I use it and feels scratchy on my face. I've tried using conditioner on the bristles as to soften the [goat?] hair, but it did not work. [I have the one with the pink handle. It came in a set.] I will not purchase again. Irritates my face too much. And I'm not smashing the brush on my face or anything.


on 2/20/2014 2:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this brush...no problems to report...works very well for powder application..very satisfied


on 10/17/2013 6:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

First of all, I think that they changed the quality of the brush. I bought mine recently (a month ago), and I must say, I am utterly stunned by the quality since I have bad experiences with Sigma brushes (shedding, bad cut brushes, splayed bristles).

What I am really stunned with is the density of the brush: the brush has densely packed bristles, compared to Bdellium 985. I know that the 985 is a duet fiber brush, but the density near the base of the brushes (where the bristles meet the ferrule) is evident. I haven't got the MAC brush, so I cannot tell how the F30 compares to 150, but I would advise to think about getting this brush (over MAC 150, Bdellium Tools 975, 980, 959).

Comparing the price: MAC vs. Sigma Powder Brush vs. Bdellium Tools: $42 vs. $24 (I payed mine $21 09/24/2013) vs. $19-21 (currently $15-17).

Comparing the density/quality: Sigma vs. Bdellium: Sigma's brush feels nice in the hand (Sephora's feel bad), has a nice, big, round head, great density, and until now shed only one (1) bristle. I did order it fully knowing it will shed, but, until now, I haven't experienced any unpleasant shedding. I like how it picks color of pressed products (MAC Select Sheer, theBalm Sexy Mama) and I don't get any cake-y effect with it. I had to use more product with BT 975 or with the beloved (not any more) 959.

I hate the fact that Sigma put the prices of the brushes higher AGAIN! Not only the shipping costs (>$11), which make Sigma brushes on the EXPENSIVE side. One should note, if you consider buying Sigma online from sigmabeauty dot com, and think the brushes are on the cheaper side, place the brushes you want to order in your cart, and calculate your shipping. The brushes may cost you exact like some of the MAC brushes (Sephora's are definately overpriced).

Overall, I like the brush very very much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2013 1:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm really baffled by all the negative reviews. I've used this brush for my powder foundation for 3 years, and I have no complaints. I got it along with a full set of brushes. Despite washing this brush many times, there has been no shedding. It gets the job done really well. I would highly recommend this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2013 4:18:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a nice brush for applying powder. Very big, domed and fluffy. I haven't had any problems with shedding. There are other brushes that work as well for powder, but this is a good one for the price.


on 1/27/2013 1:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I tried different big powder brushes from the drugstore before this because I'm more of an eyeshadow person so I mainly invested in good eyeshadow brushes. But all the brushes I tried shedded or were very harsh on my face.
So I thought I'll try a sigma one because I have a lot of brushes from them that I like and also many gurus on youtube rave about it.
The problem is that Sigma is hard to find in Europe so I had to order it on Ebay.
When I tried it on my hand to see if it shed it looked perfect, not a single hair coming off, I dusted it a bit on my face (without makeup just to feel it) and it was very soft.
So full of confidence the next morning I used it and I couldn't believe it, I had all black hairs on my face from the brush, it shedded like crazy. I thougt that maybe I had bad luck with that one soo afterwards I ordered a Sigma brush set on Ebay and the F30 was part of it but whith the same problem.
I don't know what their problem is but those brushes do nothing else than shed. Now I use a real techniques multi task brush and that is amazing (no shedding, very soft) but I'm still sad and dissapointed by my 2 sigma F30's.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2012 7:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This brush was great for about 2 or 3 months, but then it got really scratchy and started shedding a ton. No matter how I wash it, the shedding doesn't stop and the texture doesn't get any less scratchy. I won't even use this brush anymore because I have to pick little black hairs off of my face after applying my powder!! This makes me especially upset because I spent $19 on the brush =(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2012 8:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Was great until the 3rd time I washed it. Now its really scratchy and has started to shed. Its still great to blend setting powder and really pigmented blush, its just a shame it started degrading so fast.




Back to Top