Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Core Collection

4.5

218 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/26/2015 8:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Nothing to say here that hasn't already been said. Everyone needs to add this to their makeup collection! I had tons of brushes and didn't think these would add much to my routine. But I use each one every day I wear makeup.

This is how I use them:
1. Pointed Foundation: I did not try using this for foundation but instead I use it for highlighting certain parts (using Ben Nye banana powder). I apply it right underneath the contouring on my cheekbones and it really sculpts and defines them further/makes them pop. The brush is actually the perfect shape and consistency for this. Also use above my eyebrows.
2. Detailer brush: perfect for concealing really small blemishes. If you're a perfectionist like me, it's rare to find a concealer brush that is this small for the very very small details.
3. Buffing Brush: I use this for foundation on days when I want a slightly more natural look. Usually, I use the Expert Face Brush which gives a near perfect look. This one provides more sheer coverage (although not sheer coverage by any means).
4. Contour Brush: the brush I use to contour my whole face, except my nose. I used ot use the setting brush, but I prefer this one and use that for highlighting instead!



on 5/21/2015 12:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Got these for my Christmas about a year or two ago and I absolutely love them, they apply product quickly and easily, the handle for them also is a nice shape for good grip just to be extra precise these brushes are also easy to clean and don't take long to dry


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Iím into afforable makeup brushes lately. Hard. A few people have asked me to review the Real Techniques face brushes lately but my E.L.F. brushes (more here) have been so near and dear to my heart that I stalled. But here I am and boy am I glad I gave these guys a shot! Hereís a little rundown of The Real Techniques Core Collection ($17.99 at Ulta) for ya.


Buffing Brush. I would like this brush so much much more if I already didnít have my E.L.F. Ultimate Blending Brush, which is a little more dense. When my skin starts to get a little oily in the summertime and I switch to powder foundation, Iíll be excited to use this, though.


Contour Brush. When I put a little contour on my face, I like for it to be very precisely placed. So, I wouldnít use this to apply contour, but it is pointed enough to blend it out. This brush is great for blush and highlighter, though. Oh man, I love using this brush. Also, have I mentioned that these brushes are incredibly soft? Doesnít hurt!



Pointed Foundation Brush. Foundation? Maybe if I had 10 minutes to apply my face with this small brush. I do, however, love this for my under eye concealer. The ones Iíve been using lately (I donít know why) are natural hair brushes which means they absorb product, then push it around my face. This buffs it in nicely without leaving streaks and is precise enough to cover all the way up to your lash line.


Detailer Brush. When looking at this set, I thought to myself that if I can use this as a lip brush, the entire set will be worth it. The other three brushes turned out to be great (they were the cherry on top) but what I really wanted was a good lip brush. Especially for creamy lipstick, or when you donít have/want to wear a lip liner. The tip is very fine which allows for precise application and the bristles are soft. An alternate use for this brush is inner corner or brow highlight. Note: These do stain, as you can tell from the picture above. I had just washed it, I swear.


www.AllTheBestBeauty.com


on 4/30/2015 8:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Love all of these (except for the foundation brush which I have not used at all since I apply foundation with a sponge)
Soft, cheap, amazing!


on 4/22/2015 11:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am obsessed with the softness of these brushes. I never used the foundation brush because I use the buffing brush to apply my foundation. My face looks so flawless and airbrushed whenever using these brushes.


on 4/10/2015 3:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Of these brushes the one I use least is the face brush as I don't wear full or even medium coverage foundation. I also don't like the feeling of buffing my face, it's like being smothered by dormice. If that's what you like, I'm sure this dense brush would work well.
I like the foundation brush that many say is too small precisely because it's small. I tend to use foundation sparingly and only where I need it, and this brush is great for that. I wouldn't use it for a whole face, it would take too long. I like it for concealer too.
The detail blush is handy for blemishes as it's quite stiff and pointed, and for going right under the eye.
I love the contour brush, I guess I like smaller brushes. I find it useable for blusher, bronze and contour. It doesn't apply too much or too little and blends well.


on 4/5/2015 4:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The best brushes in the set are the buffing and the contour brush. Foundation brush is too small to apply foundation, and I only use it for blending with a sponge afterwards or to blend concealer. The concealer brush is okay, works to apply concealer on smaller areas and lipstick. They are really soft, they don't shed and comes with a nice case. Amazing price too.


on 4/5/2015 1:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I think this set is a great value for the price. The buffing brush is my favorite. I use all of the brushes for concealor or applying other powder or cream products.
Great deal! Especially great if you're new to makeup and are building your own brush set.


on 4/5/2015 1:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

The brushes are a great price but to be honest the only brush that is worth the money is the buffing brush.
The foundation brush is too small for foundation and too big for concealer.
The concealer brush is also too small, I use it as a lip brush.
The contour brush is ok but again a bit small.
It seems to me that they really scrimped on the size of the actual brushes which is a shame because they could be pretty decent brushes.


on 4/4/2015 4:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I only got this collection for two brushes. the buffing brush and the contour brush. Just saying this is the only reason WHY I even bought it.

now to begin the buffer brush is amazing. its does what its suppose to do and it really is a multitasking brush cause you can use it for everything from foundation / powder to blush / contour (if you're precise that is). does it take the place of my other foundation brushes that I own like my flat tops and other buffers?....no. honestly while it is amazing its not enough where I can truly call it HG status. If you are a avid collector who loves trying different brushes as a whole its worth it but you won't be completely WOWED per say.I know others will dismiss me when I say this but its honestly my opinion. I have ALOT of foundation brushes and while I do see myself gravitating to this much more, I still use my other flat tops and buffers in conjunction with it. I don't feel the need to rush out and clean it and use it again the next day. If I have my other brushes near me I'll use it if this one is dirty.But...if you're moving up from say the elf flat top to this....then this will rock you're world in more ways then one. if you are contemplating getting the elf powder brush or the real techniques, go with real techniques trust me its a better investment. plus you get four brushes and a brush stand come on!

contour, again love. I have so far only used it with powder contour, highlighting, and, setting my under eye and so far so good it does what its suppose to do. I actually like this much more because it is dense so it lets me buff away the powder contour so it doesn't look to stalk which tends to happen on Asian people like myself with puffer cheeks (LADIES BLEND !) same for highlighting its great but if the highlight is super intense go light handed...the density will make it look like you rubbed eyeshadow all over. under eye powdering great.

foundation.......meh....for me....its really whatever. I haven't gravitated towards it nor do I want to. it does the job but with the buffing brush in there...do you absolutely need it? no I feel like sam and nick should have honestly put in something else rather then this. its thin and firm which is great and it has a small head but if you prefer fuller coverage like me, you wouldnt really have a use for it.

concealer brush....again meh. does the job and all but do I really use it? not really. sometimes I do but again with my collection as a whole right now I have others I prefer over this sorry.

NOW THE BRUSH HOLDER! omg genius. people tend to dismiss it but I'm always on the go....literally I only get to sleep in my own bed maybe once a week and due to that I need to carry my brushes with me and it really truly helps. Love that they have a extra slot for your own brushes aside from the slots the brushes came in. you can make it into a stand to hold it, when you wash it just stick it upside down so the water drips downwards. and you can retract it to make it back into a book like shape close it and go. WHY ARE PEOPLE NOT TALKING ABOUT THIS?! however.......there is a con because of how you can retract it....there is no real cover for the brushes if you carry it in your bag. so whatever disgusting bacteria you harbor in there it will grab on to the brush and it will make it dirty regardless of if you used it or not. I personally found carrying it within a XXL zip lock baggy the trick but some might find that a extra hassle but seriously though....AMAZING


best part they don't shed !

now the set as a whole is it worth it for me? yeah
do I use EVERYTHING IN THE KIT? no
would I still buy it regardless? yes but only if I lost all my brushes and I needed a new cheap set


this collection is great but I personally only use two brushes and the holder from the kit. the other two while I can use choose not too. so its up to you. for newbies venturing into the world of makeup JUMP ON IT. its a great starter kit for the fact and you'll make much more use out of it then me. I personally have alot already so I dont feel the need too.




Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

93 reviews
image

Shading Brush

34 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

116 reviews
image

Core Collection

218 reviews
Back to Top