MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

930 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 5/21/2015 9:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for around 3 years. I absolutely love it! I have combination skin and find it doesn't cause any trouble for my skin. I'm the lightest shade NC15. It's stays on perfectly all day, I never have to touch up or reapply. I wear it daily and one bottle can last me up to 6 months! Which is amazing for the price. I recommend this foundation to anyone looking for full coverage. I always get compliments on my make up base and this foundation is the reason why!!! To help it stay in place I also use MAC mineralised powder on top in light plus. These two are my holy grail products and I don't think I'll ever stray away from them.

My only con is that the pump can cause wastage. The packaging is really nice but not practical!



on 5/20/2015 5:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love it but there are some set backs... I use my beauty blender to apply this foundation. I wet my beauty blender, put the foundation on it then dab the beauty blender on my face.. after that if needed I will put the pro longwear concealer on over top. I exchanged a product for this so I can't really comment on the price.

Pros
-great coverage
-buildable (but dries quickly so you need to be quick it kinda looks weird if you put on more once it is already dry, it doesn't go on as well,. for me anyways)
-nice semi matte finish
-great to use with the Pro Longwear concealer


Cons
-pump bottle, tends to cause waste of product when it pumps too much out
-OXIDIZES !!! must use a primer to prevent the oxidation so you don't turn out orange! (test it out on your hand before purchasing)
-drys quickly so you need to put more on at first to build

All in all, it's a good foundation, not a total holy grail....but it is okay..Deff like the concealer better


on 5/16/2015 9:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have been wearing Estee Lauder Double Wear for 15 years (since I was 20 years old). I have also used the Double Wear Light formulation off and on for the past 6 years or so. These were always my de-facto, go-to foundations that I never strayed from. However, I don't know if it is due to age or my evolved taste in how I like my makeup to look, but lately I have found Double Wear to be too full coverage for me now, and the Double Wear Light is not enough coverage, plus the color is not quite a match to my skin.

After doing some research I found out that MAC has had a stay-in-place foundation for a number of years, now - Pro Longwear. Why I have never known this, who knows, especially when all my other cosmetics and skin care items are MAC and I am a regular consumer. But I remember saying years ago that if MAC even came out with a stay-in-place foundation I'd switch because I absolultely love their color match to my skin which, while light, definitely has yellow undertones and tans nicely. I normally fall between NC20 and NC25 depending on how much sun I've had. I finally went out and bought the Pro Longwear in NC20 a week ago and I am in love! I have oily skin which is why I need foundations that don't transfer (like Double Wear). Finally, a long-wearing foundation that helps with oil control and stays in place that offers true medium coverage!! I have found my new HG!!

I apply this over my normal Oil Control Moisturizer and Prep+Prime Natural Radiance primer (both MAC) and it applies like a dream using my Bare Minerals Precision Face kabuki brush. The coverage is fabulous, but not nearly as opaque as Double Wear. It dries to a satin-like finish which I set with Blot Powder (MAC). The end result is flawless coverage that still allows the best of my skin to show through. Even through 10 hours of wear, I only need to powder perhaps once and then lightly blot with tissue toward the end of the evening. The color does not oxidize on me as others have stated. It stays on, and does not settle into my fine lines and pores like Double Wear was starting to. And it comes with a pump which I love, and it is not quite as pricey as Double Wear. This has definitely been one of the best buys I have made in a very long time.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At first I hated this foundation. First of all, it's not based off the same shades as studio fix. I'm an NC40 in studio fix and I thought I would be the same shade in the pro longwear foundation but it's a tad too light. I lost the receipt so I was stuck with a light foundation. I have very over-rebelling oily skin that no foundation has ever been able to keep my skin matte at all. This foundation does not help keep my skin matte but sure, it is long wearing. This is NOT a full coverage foundation I can tell you that much. I began using it again because I found a wonderful tip on youtube (Wayne Goss!). He suggested adding a drop of oil (argan, jojoba, etc.) onto your foundation prior to applying. OH MY. This thick, cakey, hard to blend foundation melted onto my skin like butter. My skin looked so natural and did not highlight any dry spots around my nose/lip area. This is what I do:

Moisturize
Prime
Contour (add concealer, contour & cream blush BEFORE the foundation)
Apply foundation in stippling motions over the contour
(I don't even need to add concealer)

BEAUTIFUL, BRONZY, NATURAL FINISH!!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2015 7:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just bought this foundation a couple of weeks ago. So far my favorite. I like the better the Estée Lauder double wear by far!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this foundation religiously for over 3 years. I do consider it my #1 Foundation, however, I could probably find one I like more. I think I keep going back to it simply because it isn't outrageously expensive and I can find it easily, it does what it says, and it simply just works for my skin. I have oily/combination/acne prone skin with occasional dry areas around my mouth and between my eyebrows. I have a lot of dark spots/discoloration and I consider this a full coverage foundation, although it's not as full as, say, Kat Von D's foundation. Blendability I find to be average. It wears pretty well in humidity and heat and also in -30 weather. I never found it to cling to dry spots too badly as long as I moisturized well. I like that I can mix it in with a moisturizer such as clinique dd gel and it applies great as a tinted moisturizer in the summer or whenever I don't need as much coverage. I just really like this foundation and as long as MAC keeps making it I'll probably always have a bottle on my makeup counter.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This foundation does what it claims to do, it just didnt work for my skin. The foundation application is important, you need to work quickly with this product and prepare the skin well as once its set its not going anywhere and can look streaky if not blended properly. I actually found using my fingers was the best method of application, making sure I used a decent primer or moisturizer it could blend with. The coverage was light to medium, I myself like a medium to full coverage so did need concealer and powder to feel happy with the end result.

Before powder is applied the finish is shiny. Not oily but I think it does need a setting powder at least along the t-zone to look wearable. In terms of wear this foundation is excellent and comparable to estee lauder double wear. Even after a full day of work, without re powdering this foundation stayed in place very well. You could easily go out straight after work with as this foundation does go the distance. It didnt work for me mainly because I have some dry skin and it just seemed to look patchy around my nose and under my eyes.

Pro:

Long wearing a full day of work plus more with a quick powder top up.

Colour selection as usual mac has a big colour selection, especially for those who may not have a good match for ELDW there might be a shade in here for you as this performs very similar.

Price well priced for a high end foundation

Finish Once set with powder this sets matte and perfect .

Packaging includes a pump and comes in a nice glass bottle

Con:

Hard to work with and blend.

Clings to dry patches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2015 12:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Full coverage. Not unbelievable full coverage like Kat Von D, but it is full coverage. The finish of this is better than KVD though..and it doesn't smell like paint. Looks best when applied with a beauty blender in my opinion. I have dry skin and it does ok as long as I wear a heavy moisturizer under it. I keep trying other foundations, but keep coming back to this one. But I only use on special occasions because if I use it every day, it breaks me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Definitely my go to foundation. Color matches my skin perfectly (NC50). the coverage is great and doesn't look at all cakey. It really provides smooth and polished look. love it so much.


on 4/19/2015 10:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Everything about this foundation realistically ticks all the boxes. It's a relatively reasonable price for a high end foundation ($54AUD), it matches my colour perfectly (NW40), as the name suggests it is definitely a long wearing foundation and to top it off, the finish is perfect for my skin type (combination). The downfall... I have never broken out as badly as I did when I purchased and started using this. I have constant, red pimples on my face (those painful, under the skin kind) and a series of tiny, horrible bumps on my forehead that I just can't seem to get rid of. I wish I didn't have these issues because I genuinely loved the foundation itself but unlucky for me - my skin is still trying to recover from the damage.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Back to Top