OPI DS Glow

4.4

11 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/23/2012 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love opi DS glow. It's has this coppery gold colour that suits my light medium olive NC30 skintone so well. I only had to apply 2 coats to get the shade that was the same as the bottle. Well worth the. 14$ cnd dollars.



on 4/27/2012 3:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous colour! It's a perfect mix of gold and bronze...and copper? Just stunning. Went on in great- two coats and it was totally opaque. Dried very quickly too!
I'd definitely recommend this one :)


on 1/2/2012 2:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Even though this isn't a holo, it's a great shade from the DS collection. Its name is really appropriate because it really does seem to glow. When I was wearing it, I would catch sight of it in low light and felt like, "Wow, that actually still stands out and sparkles." It's that surprising quality that I really like about it. It applies really really well too. I painted it on my friend's nails and it was nearly opaque in two coats. When I wore it myself, I tried only using one and it worked great!


on 10/10/2011 12:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great color, love it!


on 10/10/2011 11:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Glow is a shiny copper foil polish. I like it because it gives full coverage in 2 coats and it's a lovely warm colour.


on 8/27/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I thought about how many lippies to give this one I thought about the fact that DS Glow is supposed to be a little bit special. Limited edition, designer series, all that. While I love the color and the glitz, and found the application/consistency/opacity to be above average, it just didn't strike me as all that special. Maybe I'm stingy, I don't know. Glow just didn't blow my hair back like I wanted it to.

Another reviewer mentioned rose gold. I agree--Glow leans that way. There are pink foil particles mingled in with the coppery/bronzy ones that do add a little depth to the overall color of the foil, which reads copper on me for the most part. If you want it to push more toward rose gold, I found that wearing it over gold-leaf underwear (like Orly Luxe) helps with that.

Application was good. Not the world's best, but good. I am super-picky about what constitutes "opaque" and with foils, a lot of times it's apparently opaque but then you start to notice areas that are a little bit bald, for lack of a better word. At least I notice them. I still had baldness in two coats, but when I went to three coats I started to feel like it looked, I don't know, encrusted. It doesn't have a lumpy surface, it's smooth to the touch, but it reminded me more of a glitter than a foil in the way that it reflected the light.

Removal is a breeze and it doesn't stain. It is a foil that acts like a glitter. For that I appreciate it. But even with the multiple colors of foil/glitter particles, I just didn't find this polish to have that dimensional depth I was after, like the others in this line. Still nice to have, though. I like it in my collection.


on 1/28/2011 12:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my first and only OPI DS, and I'm glad it is. I'm not a holo fan..at all, so the only OPI DS shades that appealed to me were Glow and Mystery. Since I'm a huge gold polish fan, I decided to get Glow, and it's a really pretty slightly copper-toned gold foil. I was scared it wouldn't flatter me because of the copper, but it does. It's a smooth two coater, and my only complaint is that it leans a bit orangey in some lighting situations, but it's overall really pretty and makes a statement. I like it best for special situations :)


on 1/28/2011 12:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So my last polish from the Designer Series was Dazzle, and I loved it so hard that now nothing can compare. This is a beautiful color and applies like a dream, but I feel like it should have more depth for being a DS polish. If other polishes in the DS line have been too overwhelming for you, this might be one to try. It comes off fairly easy for being a polish with a whole lot of glitter. Of course, like all of the Designer Series, the price is astronomical. I would not purchase this particular shade again, but I will definitely purchase more of the Designer Series.


on 10/21/2010 3:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color! It's a shade between gold and copper and it's very sparkly and pretty! It reminds me of leaves changing color in the fall and of glittery ornaments and garland on Christmas decorations, so it's definitely more of a fall/holiday shade. However, I think that it would also look good with a tan in the summer.


This color would look much better on those with yellow undertones such as myself. It might look to garish/orange/metallic on those with cool undertones.


on 4/18/2010 12:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really beautiful gold polish--I would even go so far as to call it more of a rose gold. The sparkles are so fine that it really does look like foiled eyeshadow, as someone else in another OPI DS review pointed out. It's so pretty that I can't stop looking at my fingers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top