Paula's Choice CLEAR Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

4.3

88 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active: Salicylic Acid 2%; Inactive: Water, Dipropylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Pentylene Glycol (slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), PEG/PPG-17/6/Copolymer (solvent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

HOLY GRAIL. I used to use the Clinique clarifying lotion but the alcohol was making me more oily, and the mild (alcohol free) one wasn't strong enough for me (only 0.5% salicylic acid). I use this as a toner and my god it's absolutely amazing. Completely diminishes redness and exfoliates like a dream. Combining this with Creme de la mer my skin has never looked better.



on 4/22/2015 7:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I initially used this product with the Clear Anti Redness Cleanser. It made my face red and irritated and I thought I would not be able to use the product again. Around six months later, after using a million different natural methods with acne I decided to give the toner a try again. I slowly started introducing it to my skin and the results have been good . A lot of my clogged pores and acne has cleared up on my face. My acne became worse after a little bit because I was using it too often , twice a day. Now I use it only once in the evening which does not leave my face too dry.

Overall, I am happy with the product and have already bought again. The packaging could improve as when I carry it around in my bag I have found it does spill out.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My holy grail acne product. No words needed, just perfect. I am also about to try the extra strength to compare. I just ran out of this and my skin is already so much worse!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2015 12:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is an amazing product. It isn't drying and applies really nicely leaving no weird sticky residue or anything (unlike PC BHA exfoliant). My pores are minimized drastically and I have less acne. I'm not sure about the anti-redness aspect; my skin is less red, but maybe that is only because I stopped using Clean and Clear's astringent (alcohol-based product). It's too bad that it's kind of expensive, but that is not stopping me from buying it. The trial bottle (1 fl. oz. ) lasted me 2 weeks.


on 1/29/2015 3:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't know what it is but it seems the most popular things reviewed here are the things that irritate my skin the most.
I figured out a while ago I don't respond well or possibly I'm allergic to salicylic acid however I have never experienced the sort of reaction that this garbage chemical exfoliants causes.
I'm talking deep painful cystic pimples that do not go away for a long time. I used to use Clinique's mild exfoliating solution, and well it really dried and irritated my skin it certainly didn't cause that kind of reaction.
I tried a lot of PC products. They are all bad. I don't know what beautiful formulation actually means but in my mind if it causes your skin to freak out it's not beautifully formulated. At least not well enough for me, thanks.
***UPDATE*** I had returned the bulk of the *crap* i bought except 1/2 a bottle of this. I tried it again this week. It definately is clogging my pores. PAINFULLY. what the hell is in this? :( I need a good exfoliator and I can't tell if I'm allergic to SA or if this stuff *just sucks*


on 12/10/2014 10:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for about 2 months now and I absolutely love it. I was so nervous to try a well formulated BHA product because I was afraid I would "purge" or that it would irritate my skin. I did a lot of research on BHA's and in particular PC's BHA's. This one seemed like it would cause the least irritation and it's true! I have had no increased redness, any dryness, flaking, etc. It's very gentle on the skin. I use it with some cotton rounds I get at Target. I also just use this once daily, at night after I wash my face. I wait about 30-60 seconds for it to sink in a little and then apply my moisturizer. I do go through this very fast though, about 4 weeks, which sucks since I only use it once a day. However, it's worth it to me now. This has really kept my breakouts at bay. I would say this is great for someone who has more mild to slightly moderate breakouts. It helps with my blackheads, comedones, and whiteheads mainly. I haven't noticed a significant improvement in a few of my past hyperpigmentation marks that were before I used used this, but it's understandable. But any new pimples I have since had, the hyperpigmentation is very light and not as dark as it used to be, probably because I used to use an acne product with alcohol in it (yikes!).

I did not experience any "purging" but after about 3-4 weeks I noticed it brought a couple of closed comedones I had around on my face from something else I used to the surface, which I was actually thankful for. I will seriously never use a facial scrub again. My skin is so sensitive that even the most gentle scrubs would cause irritation and increased breakouts. This is a miracle product for me. If you're just starting out to BHA's this is a great one to start with and then if you feel it doesn't work out for you, I would say you could try a different formulation of PC's BHA. Since this one is so gentle, it may take 1-2 months to see full results. It is so gentle I believe because the pH is a little higher than the other BHA's that some people claim are irritating because the pH is lower. This one according to the PC's website pH range is about 3.5-3.9. It doesn't penetrate the pore as fast as one that may be like 3.2 (I'm assuming).

This is the only PC product I have tried and I am absolutely in love. I just received my third bottle of this stuff! Also, if this is anyone's first purchase, I have a referral link where you can get $10 off your first purchase. (http://goo.gl/WybMSa) I wish I would have known about that before because I paid full price. They always seem to have free shipping and coupon codes so look out for those too!

Edit (2/4/15):
Just wanted to update and say I am stilling using this and loving it. I still experience breakouts, because I am extremely stressed with my life right now. I get menstrual breakouts as well. This fades the red marks very quickly in my opinion though and helps the inflammation tremendously. I am also using PC's Hydralight Toner now, morning and night. I really like that so far, it's helping my skin out a lot. I'd recommend that as well. It's very gentle and soothing, also it gives a little extra antioxidants to the skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2014 12:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this product twice a day for a week now and I'm covered in little red bumps and little whiteheads everywhere. Within 24hrs of starting this product, my face began erupting. I'm debating whether to continue on for another week with the hope that this is just the purging process, but I'm thinking that I'm allergic to 1 or more ingredients and should probably stop using it. What to do, what to do. This is the only product I'm currently using on my skin, so I know that this is the only one to blame. The weird thing is, my rosacea has calmed down a lot since starting this treatment. My pores have always gotten smaller and I haven't had any large breakouts either. But these dozens and dozens of little bumps look awful. If I feel brave enough to go another week like this, I'll update again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2014 1:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

I love PC products and this is one of them. I have been on Accutane before so I don't often get breakouts and I use her products to maintain my skin. Was originally using the 2% skin perfecting liquid exfoliant but found it to be too drying. I switched to this and definitely prefer this over the 2% liquid.

This one is very lightweight and watery. It sinks into the skin immediately upon application unlike the 2% liquid which remains as a film over my skin and I did not experience any dryness with this one. I love PC exfoliants, they are very well formulated and really do prevent pimples and clogged pores. When I do get pimples, they are small and rarely last more than 3 days.

If you find the 2% skin perfecting liquid to be too drying, I suggest this one, its more gentle but with the same effect. Afterall it also contains 2% BHA in a more gentle formula. Also this helps with redness, plus its cheaper than the liquid. Double bonus!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 2:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Does not irritate me. Haven't seen dramatic decrease in my long-term blackheads yet, but have noticed reduced break-outs.

The full-size packaging dispenser is good for finger tip application, but the travel-size releases too much product - messy and wasteful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this product - omg YES! i have rosacea and it can get just really red and patchy sometimes and this has been absolutely fantastic. i put this on my skin at night and when i wake up in the morning my skin is calmed, clear and about 80% of my redness is gone!! it doesn't sting when you apply it and it has the texture and appearance of water that just sinks into the skin without leaving a sticky or shiny residue. this BHA product has salicylic acid which is a chemical that clears and prevents acne and i can safely say that in the 4 months i have used this product, i have only had 1 breakout since!


Back to Top