NARS Larger Than Life Volumizing Mascara

3.2

29 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/23/2015 1:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I generally get on well with Nars products, but this is hands down one of the worst mascaras I have ever used. I have long but fine eyelashes and it makes them a sticky, clumpy mess and smudges and transfers onto my eyelids once it has dried. I really can't believe how bad it is, especially for a high end product. I definitely wouldn't recommend or repurchase and will probably just chuck my almost full tube.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading reviews on MUA and I am glad that I did because I absolutely love it. I love it better than any mascara ever my new HG for sure. I do agree it's a little hard to remove but I rather have that than smudges all over my face which is why I was looking for a new mascara in the first place.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 1:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara, but the way NARS markets this mascara is misleading, hence the four star rating. This is really hard to get off, which is why some people are mad; NARS does not claim it's a waterproof mascara when it practically is. Personally, I don't mind it. Also, it's not as volumizing as other mascaras, it only kind of volumizes your lashes, which is another reason why people rate it kind of low. If NARS marketed this as the "Larger than Life Waterproof Mascara," maybe the reviews could have been more positive but I can see why people rate it so low. Other than that, this is my favourite mascara. Most mascaras make my eyes feel uncomfortable, especially with my contacts on, and sometimes I get a slight headache, which is why I didn't like wearing mascara. I have thick lashes already but I really wanted to emphasize my eyes and fake lashes were too much for a teen like me. Anyways, this mascara enhances my lashes naturally, I see no clumps whatsoever, it's awesome. It also keeps a curl and does not flake or smudge. I haven't used a lot of mascaras so maybe this is just a mediocre one, but to me it's pretty darn good and I'll probably repurchase it.


on 8/16/2014 11:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Stocky mascara. Goes on nice and thick, and stays on all day even when you cry. I guess you need to apply it slowly, wait a minute for it to dry, then dab excess off by flicking your lashes gently with a tissue until there's no residue.


on 7/6/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Really disappointed with this. Bought it because I had been so impressed with other Nars products. It single handedly encompasses all the annoying features of mascaras - smudged really badly even when applying, flaked, awkward brush, thin consistency (not volumizing!) and to top it off difficult to remove. Did nothing for my lashes and my lashes are naturally full and curly - sorry for brag but just trying to illustrate just how bad this must have been to do nothing. Am in a quandary as seems wasteful to throw away but don't want to pass on such a dud to a girlfriend.


on 2/9/2014 5:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I did not rate this mascara at all , I didn't find it volumized my lashes at all . I am a big fan of nars but not a fan of their mascaras sorry

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't like the texture of NARS packaging, wen though it is good quality. I like this mascara well enough, but I did myself staying away from it because to me the texture is very matte and hard to remove. It's good mascara, I'm just not interested in wearing it a lot of the time because of how hard it is to get off.


on 1/27/2013 11:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Almost perfect mascara on my straight, spare, short Asian lashes. Fabulous volume, length, and curl. So WHY the smudging? And yet, so hard to remove! The irony! I have yet to find anything else that enhances my skimpy lashes so well. It volumizes without weighing down, holds a curl all day in the blackest black color, and just really opens my eyes. My solution to the smudging is to add one quick layer of the Clinique lash power on top of the Nars and it seals it all in. As for removal, an oil based remover on a cotton pad pressed for 30 secs does the trick. A lotta work but I have yet to find anything else this good.


on 1/21/2013 4:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful everyday mascara which gives full lashes and is very comfortable to wear, as it leaves my lashes soft to the touch. It gives more of a natural effect with one coat and slightly more voluminous with 2. Definitely a good mascara if you need to define your lashes without weighing them down.
The brush is big just like the majority of volumising mascaras out there and it's quite easy to get the hang on. I will definitely repurchase when I run out!


on 1/14/2013 10:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

THIS STUFF IS HORRIBLE IT REALLY BREAKS OFF YOUR LASHES IT DON'T STATE IT IS WATERPROOF , I DON'T LIKE BUYING MISLEADING PRODUCTS SO THIS WAS RETURNED AS FAST AS I BOUGHT IT, THIS DOES NOTHING BUT HARM YOUR LASHES


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
426 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2007 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Ita Brush

43 reviews
Back to Top