Hourglass Illusion Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free SPF 15

3.5

73 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Lauryl PEG/PPG-18/18 Methicone, Cylcomethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Water, Silica, Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Hyaluronic Acid, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Potassium Cetyl Phospate, Glycerin, Alumina, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Laminaria Ochroleuca Extract, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Methicone, Gossypium Herbaceum (Cotton), Lecithin, Polysorbate 20, Sorbitan Laurate, Propylene Glycol Stearate, Propylene Glycol Laurate, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin. May Contain: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77499).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This broke my heart. I wanted it to be dewy and glowing and all I got was a super matte powdery finish that oxidized 2 shades darker then first applied. I love this brand and will continue to buy their products, but this one let me down. I could always feel it like a powder mask. It did look fairly nice on except between my brows where it settled in my fine lines (the 11's) I returned it, which I almost ever do. Sorry hourglass, I still love you baby!



on 2/11/2015 9:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great foundation, its not overly illuminating, if oily i would def powder since thru out the day it can get a lil shiny. But its just beautiful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful foundation! I received a sample in the shade Ivory and it is perfect. I am not a fan of tinted moisturizer normally, but this is really nice! I typically wear a glowy full coverage foundation (Dior Forever - shade 010), but I could definitely wear this too. I found their Immaculate foundation hard to wear (only worked in the humid/hot summer over Tarte Maracuja oil). I love Hourglass products in general - they are pricey but very high quality. The texture is creamy and a bit dewy, with anice thickness to it, not at all watery and greasy like most tinted moisturisers. It feels super confortable on the skin... Very nice! It provided good, medium coverage... If you don't have blemishes, you likely wouldn't need concealer. It lasts pretty well on the skin and feels just as good as at application even after hours of wear. Another great product from Hourglass... They continue to impress me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2015 2:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I received this as a sample in Ivory with a recent (December 2014) Sephora order, so I cannot comment on what the packaging or amount looks like for a full-size of this product.

I have mostly OK skin (combo, some blackheads, some redness and a few zits, some aging) and I just usually wear a BB cream or TM or primer with sunscreen. I used this to even everything out, applied over moisturizer with SS.

PRICE / Repurchase: You're joking, right? The full size version of this product is $55 USD. I usually use the Ponds BB cream that costs about $11 USD. I get more product and better results. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO WAY I WOULD EVER SHELL OUT THIS MUCH FOR A PRODUCT LIKE THIS.

Consistency: This is very thick so A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY. I ended up having to wash off my second application due to using too much product. I started again with just a dab over the middle of my face and blended with fingers.

Finish: Dried to a natural finish, maybe slightly dewy. Shade was slightly too dark for me but I am fair.

Coverage: Evened everything out. I did not have much to cover. It did not settle into any lines or pill up.

Endurance: I would say this lasted about 7-8 hours and then I started to get shinier.

Fragrance: None that i could detect.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2014 5:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Some of you, who aren't overly interested in Hourglass' foundations but have spontaneously decided to try them out (ahem), started searching online and ended up being confused with the 'tint' title. Is it a tinted moisturizer? A foundation? No one knows it really, but it doesn't matter anyway. It's makeup and that should be enough.

The box, again, is spot-on perfect. It looks fine and high quality. While opening the box you are illuminated with its heart: the Illusion foundation. The foundation comes in a squeeze tube, which is, among everything else, travel friendly - light, easy and practical. In order to make it look less cheap, Hourglass engraved their name with gold and made cap in the pearl-shine black.

I was rather disappointed with the size of the tube. Hell, I paid $55 + tax and it should look like that! But it doesn't. The heaviest part of the foundation is concentrated around the cap. I checked twice if the amount is really 30 ml, because it looks like 25 ml at most. Don't judge a book by its cover, eh?

One squeeze is enough for my whole face - depending on the pressure! Honestly, a pea-size is enough to cover all the imperfections: from redness to basic acne. The foundation is extremely creamy making it a good option for those suffering with (high) dehydration. It doesn't cling to any dry patches and makes the skin look natural. It is not invisible, but if you find your perfect shade, you can imagine it being!

They claim it is oily free. Or they claimed. It went along with my oily skin quite good. I got 10+ hr of great wear before it started to fade around nose (it's winter season, anyway) and forehead. I haven't expect the foundation would last so long as I noticed (too late) with my second Sephora Hourglass sample that the foundation separates after few hours. I did set it with MUFE HD loose powder and Inglot Mattifying powder, and powder-blotted every three hours. The trouble I have with my skin ATM is following: my skin is oily and I use once a day AHA, but when there is a major breakout I use benzoyl peroxide on evenings which highly dehydrates my skin. There is no cure to bring the sweet skin on my chin back. Nothing works to make the dryness go temporary away. Fast forward: I applied Clinique yellow moistruizer gel, Clinique City Block SPF25 (due benzoyl peroxide) and The Body Shop Vitamin C primer. The foundation is very thick and creamy hence applied with FINGERS! I never ever did that before. And trust me, you'll be fine! It works perfectly.

I think this is Hourglass take on the (Korean) BB creams, but they don't know it yet! The foundation feels light, nourishing and soothing. It smoothed my complexion really well. Whatever they put in the formulation it is good to my skin. Very good.
The Shell in Illusion is not exactly the same as in Immaculate, being the first slightly darker. If ordering blind, Shell do correspond well one to another.

TO SUM: Originally housed in a very luxurious cylinder bottle and than changed into a not so luxurious squeeze tube, this easy bendable 'skin tint' offers medium coverage with only one layer applied with fingers, SPF 15 protection and a great wear on oily skinned (10+). It is highly hydrating and soothing making it a good option for those struggling with dehydrated or 'hungry' skin. There is nothing much that should be added only to try it for yourself - you'll feel pampered!

I would recommend it to ANYONE and will repurchase if I have the chance!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 8:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Was put onto this by the girls at Mecca and stunned at the results when I saw how great my skin looked. I purchased this as a FOUNDATION it's quite a medium to heavy type tinted moisturiser and I think it's actually a bit wrong to sell it as a tinted moisturiser when it works better as a foundation. I use ivory.
The secret is to use the hourglass brush (I orig purchased without brush and went back the next day and bought brush- don't regret it one bit) if yo don't use the round type foundation brush with this it won't go on properly hence all the reviews of it being too heavy and not sitting right on the face. Pump a bit on your hand, dip brush in and whip it into the skin in circular motion making sure you get the bits around the nose/eyes etc. you can do a light cover for everyday wear or a bit heavier for a more covered look.
I am a flight attendant- no word of a lie I can wear this for 16 hours and it still looks amazing after I finish work and has brilliant coverage but doesn't feel at all heavy.
I set it with the hourglass ambient light trio palette and I use a concealer under my eyes with it too.
It's pricey but I was paying the same for my old foundation so would def repurchase. The hourglass foundation brush is essential to making this work. If I had of bought this online and not been shown how to use it by the MUA at Mecca I would of been disappointed too as it's def too thick to apply with fingers.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2014 12:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't love this. It goes on caky and heavy on me, very medium coverage. It is very BB cream in nature and not tinted moisturizer as the name suggests.

The colors run dark. I wear nude in this but online fit me with beige which was super dark. You must try these in person.

Nice tube but price is high. I will be returning this as it makes my skin look as old as it is--it settles in lines and emphasizes all cragginess. Not a homerun for me.


on 10/1/2014 6:12:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Absolutely, this foundation/moisturizer will not settle into any large pores. I tested all Chanel foundations, La Mer, Paula's choice, Estee Lauder, Lancome, Jane Iredale, Dior, Mineral fusion, Clinique, Maybelline, Smashbox, Urban Decay, Stila, and Mac among many many others.

This will not cake into large pores and it will not settle into wrinkles in harsh operating room lights or outside. My shade is Nude.

Seriously elegant. Wish it had some antioxidants in it and a higher SPF.

Beats any liquid foundation out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2014 4:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Living in Canada, our winters are super tough on my skin. I get really dry skin no matter how well I moisturize. I was looking for a product that I could wear that would not accentuate dry patches and flakey skin, or settle into fine line but give me a nice luminous coverage. The beauty advisor at Sephora tested out the Ivory shade on me which is the lightest shade they make. I admit it is a little dark for being called Ivory as I could never EVER in the past wear a color called Ivory or I would look 3 shades lighter but this is NOT light as Ivory. I like the coverage but I don't like the fact that it is really difficult to blend or spread. It is really like a thick cream foundation. There is nothing "tinted moisturizer" about this product. It is super expensive at $65 CDN and I have spent less on higher end foundation (Armani) before this Hourglass product. The packaging is ok because once you are running low, you can scrape out the last bits with a Qtip or another thin instrument. Try a sample at Sephora first, make sure they give you enough for a weeks worth and try to get 2 colors to see which one is best.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2014 10:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

- My skin: NC25, combination
- I tried this in shade Ivory (seems to run dark, as I never wear anything that's called Ivory)
- Coverage - medium foundation level coverage, which is surprising given it's a TM.
- I tried this with: Paula's choice mattifying primer + MUFE HD powder to set
- Wear throughout the day: just a little shiny in my T zone (not bad), but getting patchy around my nose after 9 hours. Helped my bronzer stay on a bit longer. Rubs off easily.
- Summary: this is OK, but for the price ($65 cdn, I think), I want something a bit better performing.
I want to give this 3.5 stars.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top