Phyto Phytodefrisant

4.1

356 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Althea Officinalis Root Extract (Mucilage Vegetal) (Botanical Origin), Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract (Botanical Origin), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract (Matricaire) (Botanical Origin), Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract (Raifort) (Botanical Origin), Ferula Assa Foetida Root Extract (Ferula) (Botanical Origin), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Parabens (Ethyl, Butyl) (Preservative), Methylchloroisothiazolinone (Preservative), Methylisothiazolinone (Preservative)


on 2/8/2015 1:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Background: My natural hair is thick, dense, about 2C waves, and with the side effect of being Latina it is also prone to frizz. I was never comfortable with my waves, and would always straighten my hair to a fried crisp. I went through Japanese straightenings, Keratin treatments, anything to have that silky straight look.

Now: I want to be more accepting of my hair, and have it be healthy and flow like Boticelli's women. It is down to my ribcage with split-ends from heat styling. In an effort to preserve ts health, I had only colored it with henna, indigo, and Surya Henna Cream. I am adamant about using all-natural products that are not a hazard to myself and the environment; anything that has no silicone, dyes, sulfates, synthetic preservatives, etc. etc.

I had been using Shea Moisture products for years which hid my untamed hair, but I used about four of their styling tools to acheive the look I want. They also left my hair feeling heavy and slightly weighed down. I wanted an all-in-one product that could manipulate my tresses to obey, stay calm under humidity, and loosen to a beach wave.

I picked up Phytodefrisant upon the reviews here at Sephora in the gold tube which is mentioned that it is a 'newer' formula. I gave it the benefit of the doubt, and began with a pre-treatment of coconut cream, then washed and conditioned with Shea Moisture's Moisture Retention line. I applied a good portion of Phytodefrisant on two section of my hair, and since this is not touted as a moisturizer, I used a dab of coconut oil in conjunction. I wrapped my hair with an old cotton t-shirt, and allowed it to air dry when taken down.

As it was drying, I did not see a hair rebel. To me, this is a miracle. Completely dry, my hair was soft, full, retained, and simply brilliant. I couldn't stop touching it, and it performed well to loosen the waves a bit. Not too dramatic, but certainly looser. My hair is not weighed down at all, and my split ends appear to have been hidden.

For the price, this is a well-worth investment. All of the other products I have used cost triple the amount of Phytodefrisant combined. I am very satified, and I look forward to my hair becoming healthier to reach my goal of growing it to my waist.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/31/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was surprised that I had never reviewed this before, and was relieved to see that the change in the formula wasn't my imagination. I remember that it used to smell faintly of garlic for a couple of seconds, and that the prior formula was much better. Oh well. I have curly hair that frizzes due to extremely dry ends, and I am terrible at blowing my hair dry, so I really need the assistance of a good product. This does not tame the frizz, but it helps with straightening a little bit.


on 7/21/2014 4:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this!

I read rave reviews about this for years but for some reason never tried it.
I have annoying straight/wavy/frizzy hair and have tried so many hair care products (shampoos, conditioners, masks, serums, oils, etc) looking for something to help me nicely air dry my hair. My hair air dries in weird waves and very frizzy (+ it takes ages and if I go to bed with it wet it looks crazy in the morning).
Over the years I've become a master at blowing out my hair. It takes me 15-20 minutes and many people think my hair is naturally straight. I like the smooth feeling after blow drying my hair straight, but sometimes I get very lazy and just want to air dry.

So I finally tried Phytodefrisant and I love it! I haven't tried it with blowdrying yet, but I just put it in wet hair (I put in quite a lot!) and let it air dry or put it in a bun with a clip. This makes my waves nicer and reduces frizz so much that I can't actually wear it naturally! I really love it and if I'm feeling non-lazy will try it with blowdrying as well.
I am currently only using this on my hair - all my expensive Morrocanoil and Bumble and Bumble serums are just sitting on my bathroom shelf...

I love it and am excited to try other Phyto products.
I bought this for 12 euros - about 16 dollars. Very cheap in my opinion for such a wonderful and natural product! And the idea that your hair only gets better the longer you use this balm is very appealing!
Absolutely recommend for people with thick, frizzy, wavy hair.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2014 3:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff is freaking amazing. I have the "new" ? formula and love how soft and straight it makes my hair, for days on end. This is a real miracle product. Even after sleeping on it, a quick refresher blow dry makes it look fresh and full. I cannot believe how it smooths down all those little annoying hairs. If you have bleached hair, you need this in your life.And its supposed to work even better over time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2014 5:22:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used Phytodefrisant for probably 10 plus years. They recently changed the formula though and now I'm looking for a new product to use to help straighten and smooth my curly hair when I blow dry it. The old formula product was actually a gel that came out of the tube. Not it's a liquify goo. The product should be in a squeeze bottle and not a tube. Ever get a liquid out of a tube? Well, that's what is is now. AND, the product does not work the same. Even my hair stylist who has been doing my hair for years, notices that it used to blow dry better with the older formula. He has a few other clients who are having the same experience. When they bring back the old formula, I'll go back to phyto. Until then… I'm trying Rene Furterer and some other products. I've complained to Phyto company by emailing them and get no response.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Maybe I am not qualified to be reviewing this product since I did not blow dry my hair after using it, although I read a bunch of reviews on this product and saw that some used it even just as a leave in and let it air dry, and that it would still give softening and shiny results. Well that is what I did, I also used some of Paul Mitchels skinny serum on top. Sadly, even when I use that serum alone, my hair is not as poofy and dry as it is right now. After applying it ON TOP of this relaxing balm. I felt as if my hair got dry instantly on impact of applying it to my hair. It did not make it feel soft whatsoever. I really hoped that this would be the answer to controlling my curly frizz prone hair but it honestly did nothing for me. The way that the product felt was like I was applying rubbing alcohol to my hair. Now my hair is one big confused mess, neither curly nor straight, very dry.

I am not giving up on it though, I will give it a few more tests.


on 12/29/2013 11:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i had a lot of hopes for this. i have thin, fine hair with an oily scalp. recently, my hair has grown out, and the longer it gets, the more fly-aways and tangles i have. so i got this to try. it did a very mediocre job taming and moisturizing my hair, even used on top of other conditioning product. also, i found the container difficult to manipulate, especially given the slippery nature of the product (a pump or the like would be more convenient). i'm sure this is a wonderful product for other hair types, but it wasn't for mine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2013 12:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have relaxed hair, this may not be the product for you. This was disastrous. It made combing my wet hair more difficult, and when I styled it, it was way bushy. Everything I looked for this product to do, it did the opposite.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2013 12:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Amazing, unreal, haven't written a review in years and just logged on at 1 am because I had to praise this product. I have a different head of hair thanks to this balm! Silky, manageable, glossy, just wow. WOW. So glad I purchased this.


on 6/22/2013 8:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product did absolutely nothing for me. I have relaxed hair, that tends to get frizzy. It seems as though it made my hair frizzier. For me, it was a complete waste of money and I returned it to the store. Someone with a different texture/type of hair may have better results.




Top Rated Phyto Products

image

Phytodefrisant

356 reviews
Back to Top