Caudalie Beauty Elixir

3.5

203 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Alcohol*, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Flower Water*, Glycerin*, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil*, Potassium Alum, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil*, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Oil*, Commiphora Myrrha Extract*, Styrax Benzoin Resin Extract*, Melissa Officinalis (Balm Mint) Leaf Oil*, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil*, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract*, Citral*, Citronellol*, Farnesol*, Geraniol*, Limonene*, Linalool*. *Plant Origin


on 4/3/2015 3:52:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Great to use in the summer months. Smells and great and it really does refresh my skin. It's not a miraculously great, but it's nice.



on 3/17/2015 5:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My review is for the L'Wren Scott LE spray. I'm not sure if the formula differs from the original. I bought this in 2013, used it once and didn't touch it again until now. I sprayed it over my foundation and it really helped give my skin a healthy look. It's not amazing but I like how refreshed my skin felt.


on 2/10/2015 2:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The worst smell ever. I sprayed it to my fave and it gabe me the worst headache for the whole day even i washed my face right after that.


on 12/26/2014 3:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Got a small bottle a week ago. Can't figure out what it's supposed to really do. I do like the refreshing smell even if it's a bit too strong. But besides the fresh smell and cool mist, I don't see any effect on my skin.


on 10/10/2014 1:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I like having a small bottle of this in my purse to rehydrate during the day. There really isn't a lot to say about facial sprays like this because they're all just window dressing anyways, but the one thing that I distinctly dislike about this product is its alcohol content. When I get it anywhere near my eye area (and when I say near I mean as far as the brow and the cheek bones), it burns my eyes.

I'm sure there are gentler products elsewhere that does a similar job and doesn't involve alcohol. Will not repurchase and do not recommend.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm calling B.S. on this Caudalie elixir! The first time I sprayed it, my kids were saying, "Ewww mom, what's that smell?? Meanwhile I was not so quietly saying, "Oh, dear Lord, it burns!!" because even though my eyes were closed when I gave that first, minty, herbal infused spritz, it somehow found it's way into my right eyeball. Unfortunately, I also found it smelled highly of alcohol, of which, I'm not a fan, and can consequently it can actually speed up the ageing "look" aspect of your skin. The alcohol in this product is a main ingredient. I can say, it's definitely all hype. Yes, I'm sure that some of the herbs used in the elixir might even be good for your skin, but it's all but destroyed by the sheer amount of alcohol used in this (and by the smell of it, I'd say it's a good amount). As for the smell, looking past the alcohol, it's got some heavier notes of whatever I imagine what 90 year old woman's house smells like. No offense to 90 year old women, but I'll be giving this a polite no thanks in my beauty regimen.

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've been using this for a while now. Not as a toner, because I see no need for toners. I use this as a skin refresher and finishing spray for makeup. I really like the scent now, when I first was using it I didn't love the scent. As for all the comments that use Paula's draconian "rules" as gospel, I simply think that her rules are extreme. That's like a doctor saying all alcohol (drinking) is bad because it dilates blood vessels. There are still benefits to drinking red wine, and I'm sure that many people still enjoy drinking beer or even sugary mixed drinks with much fewer health benefits. I won't even start on the fact that she makes her own products now, which makes her rules even more suspect. In conclusion, I enjoyed spraying the beauty elixir on my face a couple times a day. Do I know if it's "doing" something? Yes, it's making me enjoy my face more often (which is more than I can say for cetaphil or eurecin or any of the other derm pushed brands.) JMHO.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I can't quite figure out what this product does. I use it mainly as a finishing spray but I'm not sure it actually does anything. If anything I think all the alcohol is making my face greasy by the afternoon. It smells very interesting and herbal...lots of rosemary and greens. It is a bit refreshing to spray on in the summer but I don't think its worth the money. I would not repurchase.


on 8/3/2014 5:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is not for anyone with dry skin. TBH, alcohol in any toner is not for ANYONE'S skin, regardless of oiliness or dryness. This stuff probably does more damage than it does help.

Toners can be good, though this is like spraying methylated spirits on your face and expecting it to be good for you.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2014 5:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Despite the fact that I'm almost finished with my second bottle of this, I was fairly skeptical about this product until very recently because I just didn't use it frequently enough to be able to see any results. However, I have been traveling recently and using this almost daily as a skin refreher after walking in the summer heat for a several hours. In addition to the cooling menthol and herbal scent that I *love*, I am actually seeing changes in my skin, especially since this is the only product that I have been using differently in my routine. While it doesn't clear up my skin or help heal any acne that I have, my skin does always look more refreshed and glowy after using this product regularly. I also just notice my skin looking healthier and brighter. The only reason I didn't rate this as 5 stars is because I do think it's expensive in the US. Although I reluctantly pay it, I always try to buy a bottle when I go to Paris and can stop by city pharmacy. I pay about 6,50 Euros there (less than $10), rather than the $18 for the smaller bottle in the US. I never have enough room in my luggage to stock up on multiple bottles, but I definitely would if it were possible. However, all in all this product has worked well on my skin, depite the alcohol content that some people are so wary of.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top