Josie Maran Cosmetics Tinted Moisturizer

3.3

88 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Argan Tinted Moisturizer ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide 3.20%, Zinc Oxide 12.07%. INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Aqua (Water), Caprylic/Capric/Myristic/Stearic Triglyceride, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Triethylhexanoin, Stearic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Behenyl Alcohol, Steareth-2, Steareth-21, Isostearic Acid, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Squalane, Cetyl Alcohol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Dextrin Palmitate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Phytantriol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polysorbate 80, Synthetic Sapphire, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ethoxydiglycol, Dimethylacrylamide/Acrylic Acid/Polystyrene /Ethyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Punica Granatum Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-14, Panthenol, Lysine, Magnesium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Zinc Chloride, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Simethicone, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol. MAY CONTAIN: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).


on 2/10/2015 2:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This feels terrible on! My complaints are not to do with the colour or finish or whatever, it's entirely the fact that it feels sticky and tacky. The consistency is that of a thick cream but the major downside is that it's very sticky and difficult to blend. It dries/sticks very fast so you have to try blending it VERY fast. Even after managing to blend it over my face it feels sticky afterwards, like you can definitely feel it on which you shouldn't especially for a TM which should be more lightweight. Only bonus to this product is that it contains physical sunscreen as opposed to chemical, however I would not recommend as there are much better tinted moisturisers out there for your money.



on 2/9/2015 5:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have mixed emotions on this one. The color is fine, and it certainly covers well. But it's much heavier than I expect a tinted moisturizer to be. While it didn't break me out or anything... I feel like my skin didn't look as good when I was using it. And it often left my face looking shiney / greasy. I doubt I will buy it again. Even when I need coverage, I just prefer something that ends up looking more natural than this.


on 1/2/2015 7:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was after a great tinted moisturiser as I was tired of clogging my pores with foundation every day. The Josie Maran tinted moisturiser was the latest addition at my closest Mecca Cosmetica store and the SA was fairly inexperienced with the product. She recommended it as I was after decent coverage and also because it was very hard to match my skin shade to the NARS tinted moisturiser, which I was initially after.

I ended up purchasing Medium 2. To get straight to the point, this is not a good tinted moisturiser. It is so thick, it is almost impossible to blend smoothly and properly. The consistency is extremely rich and despite being a tinted moisturiser, I found it to be drying with a dewy, somewhat shiny finish (how this happens when it does a bad job at moisturising? I don't know). After applying this moisturiser and blending as much as possible, I find that when it sets, the shade darkens so that the moisturiser no longer matches my skin tone and I end up looking patchy.

I am now forcing myself to finish the tube as it cost $46AUD and I really don't like to waste product. to help with the application, I now mix it with esteem lauder day cream to get a smoother, lighter consistency and ironically to help moisturise my skin. To fix the patchy problems, I have previously blended it with a bit of my foundation and set it with translucent powder. All in all, this tinted moisturiser just does not work well on my skin and I will definently not purchase again.


on 12/17/2014 12:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Thank goodness the SA at Sephora gave me a sample of this. So glad that I didn't buy it outright. I adore the Josie Maran Argan Infinity Cream Intensive Creamy Oil so I was eager to give this product a try. I have never used a tinted moisturizer that was more difficult to put on. It is extremely thick and it definitely did not make my skin feel moisturized. It really did nothing for my skin and, in fact, at the end of the day my skin felt taut and dry.

I was looking for something to replace my Tarte BB Cream since I have to buy two tubes of the Tarte product and mix them to get an accurate color for my skin tone, but this product is definitely not it.


on 12/15/2014 11:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Blends like a charm on my older skin. This is a lovely tinted moisturizer with a nice natural coverage for those days when you just want a relaxed understated makeup look. My skin is sundamaged and this really helps the rough texture and fine lines look like they disappear. Great stuff


on 8/22/2014 2:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product because I love Josie Maran and I was impressed by the Escape to Morocco Holiday Lights and Brights starter kit I bought. But alas, this product failed me big time. I've been getting a lot of breakouts due to pregnancy so my skin is very erratic right now: super oily t-zone but dry with a lot of acne along the jawline. I've been trying non-toxic cosmetics with some success but wanted to try something a bit more luxe (if that makes sense) but still good for my skin. I'd heard great things about Josie's line so I wanted to start with a tinted moisturizer. I usually prefer light and natural makeup.

I bought this shade in Light 01 (I'm MAC NC25) and when I first applied it, the shade appeared to match because I'm light with yellow undertones. I applied this with my fingers then buffed with a stiff foundation brush. I finished off with a light dust of powder to set. It gave my skin an awesome dewy finish for about 1 hour. But what came after that was a sore disappointment...it started getting really greasy and heavy on my face and after a few hours, it turned orange on me. I even developed a new acne spot right above my lip--really bad! I rarely break out from makeup that quickly! I couldn't stand how heavy it felt on my face that I grabbed some toilet paper and wiped everything off. My skin actually looked better with NO makeup on at that point.

Also, upon reading the ingredients more carefully, I realized this product contains 1.5% avobenzone for the sunscreen portion. It's been advised by some dermatologists that pregnant women should try to avoid avobenzone. I'm returning this product as it was not as "natural" as I thought it was.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2014 3:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very rich with a bit of coverage. I like creamy textures. Goes in nicely with fingers or that beauty sponge thingie from Sephora. I am mixed race and the medium shade boosts my skin tone in a natural way to make me appear much more "sun kissed". The shade is deeper than my own but it blends well and feels nice. If you want something light and non-greasy, this is not for you. Maturing or dry skins might love it like I do.


on 7/9/2014 2:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Like so many other reviewers have said, this is not a tinted moisturizer. I bought it wanting a tinted moisturizer, and it's not one. That's all you need to know! I have mostly clear skin, just a pimple here or there once a month and this stuff made me break out badly. Pimples all over my face, multiple new ones surfacing during wear. It was recommended for dry skin (it was winter when I bought it, and I was combatting some serious dryness), and it certainly is oily and heavy like a dry skin moisturizer. It does not blend well no matter what tools you use--hands, brush, sponge--and it just sort of sits on top of the skin, never absorbing. Because of this, the color doesn't really suit my skin tone (plus the colors are just kind of poorly formulated, I've gathered). There is no transparency as with other tinted moisturizers, it is a very heavy formula. I hated it! I spent weeks with pimples all over my face. Don't waste your money. Bobbi Brown and Laura Mercier do great tinted moisturizers, and I'm never straying from them again!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2014 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love how moisturizing and smooth this is but that's it. It broke me out and was SUPER thick, my skin looked way better when i took it off. Plus it's too oily and doesn't have good coverage. The only thing i like about this was the feel of it, it feels so luxurious!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2014 9:26:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I went into Sephora to try and buy Tarte Smooth Operator but after having an in depth conversation with the very informative SA, she convinced me not to buy Tarte but to give Jose Maran a try as she felt it would be better for my dry, old, face. IDK...maybe because of my age and the target demos of both companies she felt Josie would be a better match?

Thankfully, she sent me packing with SIX generous samples of both brands, 3 colors each. What a gal!

I had no luck with Josie Maran. Shades were off, consistency was too thick, and it did nothing to enhance my completion at all. It was difficult to apply even with a good moisturizer underneath. At the sides of my face where I have the slightest bit of peach fuzz, the product just stuck to the fuzz and it was impossible to blend. The finish was dull, drab ,blotchy, covered nothing and adhered to the smallest of flakes I had that could not be detected by the eye without the product on.

It was a total bust for me. As for Tarte, I'm wearing it today and as a quick comparison to Josie, it applied 100 times better, has more covering power and has a lovely finish. Too soon to tell but I'll review Tarte when I've spent more time with it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Josie Maran Cosmetics Products

Back to Top